BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Streamline and extend SAP BusinessObjects software 
Streamline and extend SAP BusinessObjects software (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)


 
Search this topic... | Search DI: SAP-specific ERP/BW... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Data Integrator -> DI: SAP-specific ERP/BW  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
suno
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 26 Jan 2011

Posts: 2



PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:38 am 
Post subject: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

Hello all!

We are facing an issue when trying to import tables or extractors from a SAP datastore in DataServices 4. The error message in errorlog.txt is the following:
R3C-150205: Error creating RFC function <RFC_ABAP_INSTALL_AND_RUN>: <RFC_COMMUNICATION_FAILURE-
LOCATION CPIC (TCP/IP) on local host with Unicode
ERROR no conversation found with id XXXXXXXX
TIME Mon Sep 05 09:45:33 201
RELEASE 711
COMPONENT CPIC (TCP/IP) with Unicode
VERSION 3
RC 473
MODULE r3cpic.c
LINE 9186
COUNTER 12
>. Notify Customer Support.

The curious thing is that we do not have this problem with a DS 3.2 in other server.
Current DS 4 installation is in a W2003 Server.

What is wrong?
Back to top
Werner Daehn
Forum Devotee
Forum Devotee



Joined: 17 Dec 2004

speaker.gif*6
Posts: 10590
Location: Germany


flag
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:11 pm 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

I have seen that issue as well. When you do any operation which causes an exception at the SAP side, from then on you are no longer connected with Designer to the SAP system. You have to either restart the Designer or edit the datastore with no changes so you get reconnected.

So my answer would be, this is a follow up error. Something did happen before.

_________________
Werner Daehn
Product Manager Data Services
SAP AG
“The opinions expressed in this post are my own views and not those of SAP.”

PLEASE SUPPORT THIS: Run one ATL job and tell us the benchmark result. Details to be found here.
Back to top
suno
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 26 Jan 2011

Posts: 2



PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:26 am 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

Thanks for your response, Werner, ans sorry for the delay.

We are starting the designer from the same server. We have even restarted this BODS server and inmediately after that, tried to get the extractors with the same error as result.
It is very strange because it cannot be a SAP side problem because with a 3.2 version it works.
We have disabled the firewall too.

Maybe we are missing a prerrequisite. Is it necessary the integration kit?
Back to top
jaja
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 08 Sep 2011

Posts: 5



PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:03 pm 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

Were you able to resolve this problem? I'm having the same error using Data Services 4.0 SP2 on AIX.
Back to top
Johannes Vink
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 20 Mar 2012

Posts: 1138


flag
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 6:18 am 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

This is worrysome.

I have *exactly* the same error on BODS4 as described above. I tried to import KNA1, nothing fancy.

However... on BODS 3.1 the import of the table succeeds.

Could be that it is related to some authorization issue, this is a completely new SAP in to our BODS landscape. However, there should not be any difference between 3.1 and 4.0...
Back to top
Johannes Vink
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 20 Mar 2012

Posts: 1138


flag
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 9:47 am 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

Running jobs on 3.1 did not give any problem. So there are no authorization issues on the SAP side.

Why on earth BODS4 has a problem with importing any table from that SAP system is... peculiar.

Tx ST22, SM21 will be checked out for some hints.

Small difference between Execute preloaded and Generate and execute:
---------------------------
Data Services Designer
---------------------------
Error: Cannot import the metadata table <name=T001>.



Error creating RFC function <Z_AW_TABLE_IMPORT>: <RFC_COMMUNICATION_FAILURE-
LOCATION CPIC (TCP/IP) on local host with Unicode

ERROR no conversation found with id 11953119
TIME Tue May 29 18:48:32 201
RELEASE 711
COMPONENT CPIC (TCP/IP) with Unicode
VERSION 3
RC 473
MODULE r3cpic.c
LINE 9186
COUNTER 24
>. Notify Customer Support. (BODI-1112339)
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------


---------------------------
Data Services Designer
---------------------------
Error: Cannot import the metadata table <name=T001>.



SAP error dynamically importing SAP table: <Error creating RFC function <RFC_ABAP_INSTALL_AND_RUN>: <RFC_COMMUNICATION_FAILURE-
LOCATION CPIC (TCP/IP) on local host with Unicode

ERROR no conversation found with id 11987232
TIME Tue May 29 18:49:02 201
RELEASE 711
COMPONENT CPIC (TCP/IP) with Unicode
VERSION 3
RC 473
MODULE r3cpic.c
LINE 9186
COUNTER 27
>. Notify Customer Support.>. (BODI-1112339)
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Nothing else found. Error message is also coming extremely fast... too fast for some communication with the SAP server I think.

Some notes:
1629625 - BODI-1112339 Error when Importing the tables from SAP - Data Services 4.0
1641879 - BODI-1112339 Error when Importing the tables from Microsoft SQL Server - Data Services 4.0

The first note describes my situation:
====================================
Symptom
BODI-1112339
Error: Cannot import the metadata table <table name>
RFC CallReceive error <function Z_AW_RFC_ABAP_INSTALL_AND_RUN
RFC_ABAP_MESSAGE-changes to Repository objects are not permitted in this Client

Environment
Data Services 4.0 (14.0.0.x) and Data Services 4.0 SP1 (14.0.1.x)
SAP ECC or SAP BW

Cause
When using "Generate & Execute" as the ABAP execution Option and had set "No Changes Allowed" value for Changes and Transports for Client-Specific Objects. [ In SAP Transaction code SCC4 ].

Resolution
Use "Execute Preloaded" as the ABAP Execution option when the SAP Client is Closed.
====================================

However in the note a message is returned from the SAP system. In my case only a communication error is shown from BODS itself.
Back to top
Werner Daehn
Forum Devotee
Forum Devotee



Joined: 17 Dec 2004

speaker.gif*6
Posts: 10590
Location: Germany


flag
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 3:55 pm 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

where does the execute_preloaded versus generate_and_execute come into the picture? The import-table fails, doesn't it?

I have seen something like that once when a wrong SAPGUI was installed on the Designer computer, might be that??

_________________
Werner Daehn
Product Manager Data Services
SAP AG
“The opinions expressed in this post are my own views and not those of SAP.”

PLEASE SUPPORT THIS: Run one ATL job and tell us the benchmark result. Details to be found here.
Back to top
Johannes Vink
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 20 Mar 2012

Posts: 1138


flag
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 10:00 am 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

The import table fails indeed. I changed several settings in the datastore, and that is why the generate/execute comes from. Interesting difference, but not the cause.

I have no SAP GUI installed at all at the server, nor at the Citrix server. My own laptop does not have BODS4... It is worthwhile to check, but everything else worked fine without a SAP GUI.
Back to top
Johannes Vink
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 20 Mar 2012

Posts: 1138


flag
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:50 am 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

I have installed GUI 7.20 including the latest patch, but no improvement.

I also found out that running jobs from 4.0 does not work. BODS 3.1 works perfect. See also topic:
http://www.forumtopics.com/busobj/viewtopic.php?t=190031

It is only that SAP system. But no clue at all what to look at. I would say an authorization issue, but why BODS 3.1 is working then?
Back to top
bado70
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 25 Jul 2005

Posts: 3
Location: Mexico



PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2013 4:23 pm 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

Has anybody found a solution to this, im having exactly the same problem with DS 4.1. With DS 3.1 the same job was working fine.

Any help would be apreciated
Back to top
Werner Daehn
Forum Devotee
Forum Devotee



Joined: 17 Dec 2004

speaker.gif*6
Posts: 10590
Location: Germany


flag
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 1:29 am 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

What did change is the SAP library we are using. Before it was the librfc32.dll, now it is the sapnwrfc.dll (64bit).

Maybe that helps you further..

_________________
Werner Daehn
Product Manager Data Services
SAP AG
“The opinions expressed in this post are my own views and not those of SAP.”

PLEASE SUPPORT THIS: Run one ATL job and tell us the benchmark result. Details to be found here.
Back to top
Johannes Vink
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 20 Mar 2012

Posts: 1138


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 12:59 am 
Post subject: Re: Cannot import R3 tables (DS4)

Most of the times with these kind of vague errors an authorization trace on the SAP side showed what kind of authorization problems were still around.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Data Integrator -> DI: SAP-specific ERP/BW  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0479 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0023 Parse 0.0358 Other 0.0099)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo