BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Want to sponsor BOB? 
Want to sponsor BOB? (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers
1 members found this topic helpful
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Search this topic... | Search Server Administration, Installation, Upgrades... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Server Administration, Installation, Upgrades  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
Andreas
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 20 Jun 2002

medal_silver.gif*2medal_gold.gif
Posts: 17345
Location: *** BEEP ...Dreaming of Africa... leave No message ; ) BEEP ***


flag
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:57 am 
Post subject: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Has anyone problems with the Adaptive Processing Service in SAP BI 4.0? So far in 2 Windows server installations this service often goes offline and cannot be restarted (SAP BI 4.0 SP2 Patch 03 on MS Windows Server 2008.
_________________
Follow me on Twitter
Reading "The Design Of Everyday Things" by Don Norman
Focusing on Data Visualization, Design Thinking, SAP DesignStudio + scripting, SAP BI 4.x platform & architecture, SAP connectivity, Data Modeling, and SAP HANA Certified Associate
Back to top
chuckdiegoo
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 12 Oct 2009

Posts: 39



PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 2:24 pm 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Yes we have done three fresh installs and have found the same issue. Our issue only arises after we use the upgrade tool to import the 3.2 uni and webi reports to the new system.

Our CPU spiked to 100% and sat there for days. I am in the process of splitting out the APS into multiple APS servers to try and narrow down what service is causing the issue.

I have had a case open with SAP for about a month with no luck yet.
Back to top
Riempie
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 22 Jan 2004

Posts: 67
Location: Netherlands



PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:45 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Do you guys have an update on this? I'm having the same problems with SP2 fixpack 6. The problem was also there in fixpack 4. I had contact with SAP and they suggested the following:

1. Stop the existing Adaptive Processing servers.
2. Replace ‘launcher.jar ‘(C:\Program Files (x86)\SAP BusinessObjects\SAP BusinessObjects Enterprise XI 4.0\java\pjs\container\bin) file from a working environment.
3. Go to CMC -- > Servers -- > Go to properties of Adaptive Processing server.
4. In the Command line field, add the switch –Xmx2g at the end of the line and Save the setting.
5. Common settings provided the Host name of the server.
6. Click on Saved and close.
7. Edited the Host file of the server (IP Address, Hostname, Fully qualified Domain Name).
8. Reboot the server and test the issue.


Now, the only 'solution' which seemed to work was step 4. It was stable for a while, but now the problem happens again....
Back to top
chuckdiegoo
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 12 Oct 2009

Posts: 39



PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:41 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

I have an existing ticket open with SAP and we still have not fully resolved the issue.

The work around they sent me for 4.0 SP2 FP4 was:

-Created an Adaptive Job Server which was hosting the
search service, however when you were starting it, the CPU usage was
instantly spiking to 100% and eventually crashing.
- We made the changes in this server as per KB 1630185 and started the
server.
- It started fine without spiking the CPU to 100%

We still have the problem of the search service consuming far to much CPU.
Back to top
Riempie
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 22 Jan 2004

Posts: 67
Location: Netherlands



PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:37 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

I can comfirm the workaround you mentioned seems to work for now. I have 2 adaptive processing servers. One without the search service and one with only the search service.

I had to use the parameter -Xmx3g though for the adaptive processing server with only the search service to work correctly without crashing..
Back to top
joe1234
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 06 Apr 2011

Posts: 24



PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:05 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Hi guys,

even we face the same issue in 4.0 SP2 Patch 4.. We are facing this issue when we use LCM.

SAP suggested us the same work flow as mentioned in previous posts.

SAP confirmed that they have fixed this issue in Patch 6 .

Still we did not upgrade to patch 6. So I am not sure do they fixed the bug or not in patch 6.
Back to top
rajibchakraborty
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 23 Feb 2011

Posts: 4



PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:42 am 
Post subject: BO 4.0 SP2 Installation - Please suggest

Hi Guys,

We had installed BO 4.0 SP2 and after the successful installation we found both the version below:

SAP BusinessObjects BI platform CMC
SAP BusinessObejcts BI platform WACS CMC


Could you please give an idea which version actually SAP rceommends ? because what we found is that WACS is a part of default installation and when we tried to run the Java version of BI launch pad we found they are not running, but WACS BI launch pad is successfully running.

Is it possible to run SAP BusinessObjects BI platform CMC when WACS version is installed and running?

Rajib
Back to top
Riempie
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 22 Jan 2004

Posts: 67
Location: Netherlands



PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 5:38 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Fixpack 6 doesn't fix the problems with the adaptive processing server. A colleague of mine has more problems on Win2003. The workaround I use on win2008 seems to work, but not for him.

The adaptive processing server seems to be a garbage bin for all 'servers' which SAP couldn't fit into one single server. The adaptive processing server contains a lot of services when you install it out of the box. The sizing guide of BO4 says it't not a good idea to leave it as it is and create seperate adaptive processing servers with only the services you need. It also seems you have to give each processing server certain parameters wich suits you best. But it's hard to tell wich services you need and which parameters you need to use. It seems you need to know everyting of all te servers on BI4 to have a normal working environment.

By the way, SAP doubled the hardware specs for BO4 with SP2. At first they said 8GB and a dual-core processor was enough, but you need to have 16GB of memory and at least a quad-core now. They even recommend an eight-core processor.

The 16GB memory is a must, but the numbers of processors is doubtfull (my experience).

rajibchakraborty: I suggest you use SAP BusinessObjects BI platform CMC and not the WACS-version. SAP seems to support the non-wacs stuff first in updates of BO. But in terms of functionality it doesn't matter witch one you use. The WACS-service does use a lot of memory though. You need all memory so I shut down the WACS-service to free up memory.
Back to top
smruti.panda
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 11 Nov 2011

Posts: 109
Location: India


flag
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:45 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

I too was running into similar problems, Mine web applications were deployed using WACS.

The Adaptive Processing servers host the Platform Search Service also. In our case it was the culprit, we removed Platform Search service from the APS, deleted the 'Data' folder for the indexed data, reduced the level of indexing from "Index all Data" to "Meta Data only" and then added back the search service to the Adaptive Processing server. After these steps, APS was working normal and not consuming lot of resources. Hope it might help you.

_panda_
Back to top
Riempie
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 22 Jan 2004

Posts: 67
Location: Netherlands



PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:20 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Hi smruti.panda

Where exactly did you make the change to reduce the indexing to Meta Data Only? I can't find this...
Back to top
smruti.panda
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 11 Nov 2011

Posts: 109
Location: India


flag
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:44 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

You will find that in 'Applications' area of CMC. Will be listed as Platform Search. open up it's properties and you can make changes.

_panda_
Back to top
Riempie
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 22 Jan 2004

Posts: 67
Location: Netherlands



PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:57 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Thx... found it. I have an other problem though.... See below the note from SAP.

Nice... NOT. Better to isolate and stop the search service to save some memory and cpu-usage.

Symptom
• Unable to perform a search in BI Launchpad
• Error message: "An error occurred while searching: Index is not ready. Please try again later (PSS 01004). (PSS 01004)" is displayed
Environment

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform 4.0
Reproducing the Issue
1. Login to BI launchpad
2. Perform any search in the search panel
3. The error message is displayed

Cause
The issue has been identified as product defect and logged under Problem Report ID ADAPT01512534

Resolution
The issue is targeted to be fixed in BI 4.1

Keywords
index not ready, PSS 01004, BI launchpad, search, BI4.0, ADAPT01512541
Back to top
Nicolas Hadj-Blaha
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 10 Mar 2005
ASUG Icon
Posts: 481
Location: New Zealand


flag
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:09 pm 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Hi,
We had the same issue with 4.0 SP2 - we initially noticed it because all the graphs are displayed as a red x. We upgraded to 4.0 SP2 Patch 7 and the implemenation was more stable. SAP Support finally acknowledged the issue as a bug to be fixed in 4.0 SP2 Patch 9

SAP Support wrote:
**Details of ADAPT01590549 are under**
Description:Charts don't display in Web Intelligence documents intermittently. It is observed that intermittently red x graphics are displayed. To be fixed in: BI 4.0 Patch 2.9

Cheers
Nico

_________________
Lead Data Architect, Synchrony Global
Back to top
BOB_forum_member
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 22 Nov 2011

Posts: 6


flag
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:09 am 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Hello everyone

We are 4.0 SP02 Patch 7.

We have been thru some pain with APS as well. We had initially cloned it and enabled only certain services on each clone, but this didnt help much and the memory consumption was enormous and we couldnt afford them with the that-time allocated 8 GB physical and 4 GB virtual memory. Finally, based on our needs (deplying Webi and Xcelsius only) we were recommended! to split the APS into 3:
APS1: DSLBridge, ACS, Documenttation recovery, Visualization and Webi Monitoring Service with 4GB allocated to this split only
APS2: LCM and Monitoring 2GB
APS3: Search and everything else 2 GB

btw: the setting of -xm2g means 2GB allocated to the service, etc.

I did try to clone as we have done before, but the clones would fail to start and we were back to 1 single APS with 2 GB memory until today, as I have created the new APS nodes from scratch. So far so good. Will update how we progress.

I know the cloning procedure had a bug previously on patch 2, and was hoping they have resolved it by patch 7, but not the case. Do not clone!

HTH
Back to top
sborra
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 27 Oct 2010

Posts: 46



PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:25 pm 
Post subject: Re: SAP BI 4.0 - adaptive processing servers

Hi all,

I am unable to post a new topic as i am not a moderator,so I am making use of your post, thank you. I am facing an issue while installing the SAP BO 4.0, KINDLY ANY ONE GIVE A SOLUTION FOR ME LIKE WHAT ARE THE THINGS DO I NEED TO TAKE CARE.
IT IS SAYING:
CHECK SUPPRESSED REBOOT STATE -- CRITICAL -- MISSING

What is the thing do I need to have to reslove this issue.
Thank You[/img]
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Server Administration, Installation, Upgrades  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 3 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0317 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0031 Parse 0.0010 Other 0.0276)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo