BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Want to sponsor BOB? 
Want to sponsor BOB? (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: BOB is going to retire...please see details here.
General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

Changing Connections on all universe


 
Search this topic... | Search Semantic Layer / Universe Designer... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
JayeTH33
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 05 Jun 2009

Posts: 5



PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:17 am 
Post subject: Changing Connections on all universe

We have about 15 universes, which all use the same connection to a single database. The database host name is changing so i need to edit the connection setting for all the universes.

I see the connections in the CMC, but you cant seem to edit the host time. I have tried opening the connection in one universe and modifying it. it worked for that universe, but none of the others.

Is there any way to make this change and then manage it globally?

This is on IX r3.1

Thanks
Jaye
Back to top
Sebastien Goiffon
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic



Joined: 29 Sep 2004
ASUG Icon
Posts: 6482
Location: Boston, MA


flag
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:19 am 
Post subject: Re: Changing Connections on all universe

There is no way to achieve this within the CMC. This ust be done within the Designer....
_________________
BI4.3 inside scoop
BI4.3: Back to the future
BO or BOBJ� that is the question

360Suite: Helping BI teams to achieve Excellence
Back to top
soulie
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Mar 2005
ASUG Icon
Posts: 120
Location: Hither and yon


flag
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:20 am 
Post subject: Re: Changing Connections on all universe

Go to Tools, Connections within the Designer tool.
Back to top
JayeTH33
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 05 Jun 2009

Posts: 5



PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:26 pm 
Post subject: Re: Changing Connections on all universe

I guess to clarify, this appears to have to be done to each universe.

Jaye
Back to top
Dave Rathbun
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 06 Jun 2002

speaker.gif*16
Posts: 22156
Location: Dallas, Texas


flag
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:33 pm 
Post subject: Re: Changing Connections on all universe

If the same connection is shared, then you should only have to edit it once. I don't believe you have to export the universe for this change to take place, but you might try and see if that helps.
_________________
Dave's Adventures in Business Intelligence Image link

Latest Blog Posts
• 2019-09-19 Stephen Few Blog Post on Multivariate Visualization
• 2019-02-11 Update on Query Banding
• 2018-10-19 BI Evolution
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0280 seconds using 18 queries. (SQL 0.0029 Parse 0.0008 Other 0.0243)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo