BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

Freehand SQL Data Provider


 
Search this topic... | Search Web Intelligence... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
shaffner
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 22 Jul 2004

Posts: 69
Location: Allstate - Irving, TX


flag
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:24 am 
Post subject: Freehand SQL Data Provider

Is there anyway to use Freehand SQL data provider in Webi with XI R2 or 3.1?
Back to top
bernard timbal
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 26 May 2003

Posts: 3909
Location: Paris - FRANCE


flag
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:01 am 
Post subject: Re: Freehand SQL Data Provider

no, but you can create derivated tables in univers, then use it to make the query in webintelligence
_________________
Bernard TIMBAL DUCLAUX de MARTIN
BusinessObjects Platform Certified Consultant
Image link
(Co)author of 2 books about SAP BusinessObjects XI3.x and BI4.x Administration
Back to top
shaffner
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 22 Jul 2004

Posts: 69
Location: Allstate - Irving, TX


flag
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:07 am 
Post subject: Re: Freehand SQL Data Provider

Perfect, thank you.
Back to top
haider
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie



Joined: 18 Jul 2005
ASUG Icon
medal_gold.gif
Posts: 9403


flag
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:03 am 
Post subject: Re: Freehand SQL Data Provider

Not sure what you meant by using FHS dataprovider in webI
But you can very well override the generated SQL in webI query panel, both in XIr2 and XI 3x

.

_________________
BO 5.x,6.x, BO XIr2, XI 3.1, XI 4.0, XI 4.1. Oracle 9i/10g/11g, SQL Server, DB2, Sybase
Back to top
Debbie
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 01 Mar 2005

Posts: 2775
Location: Cheshire, England


flag
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:24 am 
Post subject: Re: Freehand SQL Data Provider

I have some dummy universe objects that don't reference tables. I can use these in a report then overwrite the SQL to whatever I want, provided that the select part outputs the same number of columns of the same type as the dummy objects.

Works beautifully!

debbie
Back to top
shaffner
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 22 Jul 2004

Posts: 69
Location: Allstate - Irving, TX


flag
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:27 am 
Post subject: Re: Freehand SQL Data Provider

In Desktop Intelligence (or Full clinet versions prior to XI R2), when prompted for Data Access in the New Report Wizard you have the option (depending on your security settings) to choose betweent a Universe or Others(VBA Procedures/XML Data Provider/Fee-hand SQL/Personal Data Files/Stored Procedures).

The Others->Free-hand SQL Option is what this thread was concerning. Thanks for the info on customizing the SQL generated by the Universe though. And Debbie that was quite an inventive use of objects! icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
webiworx
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 21 Feb 2005

Posts: 66
Location: UK


flag
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:30 am 
Post subject: Re: Freehand SQL Data Provider

I too use the Dummy objects approach, but you need to create dummy objects for each type (Char, Date, Number, etc) otherwise I found WebI will not parse the SQL.

i.e. create dummy objects for dimension, measures, dates, etc.

Drag into Result Objects panel in the same order as your Freehand SQL columns and then simply change the SQL.

If you use 'real' objects and then customise the SQL then it can lead to problems in the future as there is no quick way of knowing custom SQL has been used when you get into the query panel.

Seeing dummy objects makes this easier.

If you have a lot of objects then create report variables with more meaningful names for each dummy object. I find this helps with the report development.
Back to top
weaver
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 16 Oct 2008

Posts: 315



PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 10:40 pm 
Post subject: Re: Freehand SQL Data Provider

One tip is that if you overwrite the SQL - rename the Query something meaningful so others in your team remember.

So you might open a report and see 4 queries, Accounts, Sales, Departments, ChangedSQLReadOnly.

Dummy objects aren't always enough. You could also use them if you have a combined query that is doing a Union.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0291 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0033 Parse 0.0009 Other 0.0249)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo