BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Launch Works 
Launch Works (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: Upcoming Events: BONYMAUG: May 14, BI2014 Nice, France: May 21.

BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Search this topic... | Search WebIntelligence XI... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> WebIntelligence XI  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
jbompally
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 06 Dec 2011

Posts: 14



PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:31 am 
Post subject: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

Hi,

I am working on XIR3 -
1.the proerties are missing in Properties tab
In Infoview - right click the report - Modify - (the report will open in Edit mode) - highlight in any of the Table or text or label - the properties are blank in Properties tab.

2. when creating the new report - adding a table - it is in different colors...where to change the default settings when we drop table/label/text ?

This is very urgent issue - greatly appreciated your help.
Back to top
katullus
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 21 Aug 2009
ASUG Icon
Posts: 755
Location: NYC always in my heart


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:41 pm 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

What you mean the properties tab is missing? Do you mean you can see the properties tabl along with all the other tabs but it's blank? Or you cant simply find the properties tab? What exact version are you using? 3.0? 3.1? sp#?
Back to top
jbompally
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 06 Dec 2011

Posts: 14



PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:46 pm 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

BO XI R3 version - Yes, I can see the Properties tab but it is blank.
Back to top
pderop
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 27 Oct 2010

Posts: 237
Location: BelgiŽ



PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:03 pm 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

This is something I've seen in quite a few of my trainings at customer's sites.

Usually, it also happens in places where people had trouble with Java before.

did you also run into this phenomenon :http://pderop.blogspot.be/2010/10/hairy-java-bug-in-business-objects-xir3.html ?

If so, you might want to consider double-checking your java settings.. I would love to know the exact source of this issue.

Peter

_________________
lots of Business objects tips on my WebLog : http://pderop.blogspot.com
Back to top
bdouglas
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 29 Aug 2002

Posts: 2835
Location: dayton, OH


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:23 pm 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

We saw this a few times in our last training class, and what we found was the window had 'collapsed', for lack of a better word. You should be able to grab inside the properties window and pull up on something in that blank window - what you are normally seeing is buried on that window beneath what you see.

Our trainer showed that to me, or I would never have found / believed it - some empty property has pushed everything else off the page....

Good luck!
B
Back to top
lmcatl
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 30 Sep 2011

Posts: 17



PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:15 pm 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

I experienced this a couple of weeks ago. Are your formatting options (bold button etc) also greyed out? That's what I had and it turned out that java had been updated to 7 so I had to uninstall that and make sure that I had 6.3(?) for 64 bit to get the formatting and properties options back.

But a few months ago I also had the other scenario where it was just collapsed as bdouglas described so I learned the way around that.
Back to top
jbompally
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 06 Dec 2011

Posts: 14



PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:41 pm 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

Pderop,

after setting the Start - Control Panel - Jave - Advanced - Security - "Enable - Hide warning and run with protections" - able to create report.

I can create the report.
THANKS A LOT.




Regarding Properties missing in Properties tab in Edit Report:

Bdouglas ,
I am not clear what you have said, can you give more details.




THIS is BOXIR3 SP1.


Thanks in advance.
Back to top
bdouglas
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 29 Aug 2002

Posts: 2835
Location: dayton, OH


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:13 pm 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

Sorry, it's hard to describe, would be easier to show - what we saw was the properties had a window open that took up all the space, with nothing in it. If you could get an edge of that box and pull it, you would see the rest of the properties that had been hidden off the bottom of the page.

B
Back to top
winterofbob
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 20 Aug 2012

Posts: 13



PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:46 am 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

I just had the same problem this morning, I assumed it had something to do with the Java version since it had recently updated. I dropped back down to Java 1.6.0_34 (which is actually release 6) from Release 7 and the properties tab returned.

I also tried the other commenters suggestion of it being 'hidden' and dragged every which side I could before I dropped my Java version, but can confirm that the issue appears to be with Java release 7 and BO 3.1.
Back to top
bo_mate
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 15 Jun 2004
ASUG Icon
Posts: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia


flag
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:26 pm 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

I had the same problem and resolved it by downgrading Java from 1.7 to 1.6.
Back to top
tiboch
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 21 Nov 2012

Posts: 2



PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:08 am 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

I have the same problem, using Google Chrome or IE, I disabled Java 1.7 and enabled Java 1.6 in Java Control Panel...

This magically works now !

Does this mean that BO XI is not compatible with Java 1.7 ??
I am a bit worried cause I would like to be able to use java 1.7 version in general...
Back to top
SteveD
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 02 Nov 2009
ASUG Icon
Posts: 351
Location: Scarborough, North Yorkshire, UK


flag
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:21 am 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

Webi 'works' in xi r3 with Java version 1.7 but the properties pane will be blank = you will have to uninstall version 1.7 and either re-install or re-enable version 1.6.

I've done this myself in the past and encountered issues when uninstalling 1.7 - webi worked fine and the properties pane came back but i couldn't access the Java control panel. No great biggy, it was a registry thing so my it service desk guys fixed it for me. (I don't advise tweaking your own registry.)
Back to top
harshiljoshi.sap
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 11 Aug 2011
ASUG Icon
Posts: 248
Location: BI BO World


flag
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:29 am 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

Solution: Downgrade Your Java.
Back to top
yogishag
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 20 Apr 2011

Posts: 31
Location: Mumbai,India


flag
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:07 am 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

I done the same,But no luck..
Any solutions pls..


Thnks,
Yogisha g
Back to top
tiboch
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 21 Nov 2012

Posts: 2



PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:12 am 
Post subject: Re: BO XIR3 - Properties are missing in Properties tab

It works to downgrade Java, I agree, but we cannot say this is a solution.
The issue is that now I cannot benefit of Java 1.7 for the rest !!!!

The solution would be to have BO XI software upgraded to support Java 1.7 release ...

This is a workaround not a solution.

BO XI does NOT work with java 1.7 this is it.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> WebIntelligence XI  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 2 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0501 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0026 Parse 0.0355 Other 0.0120)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo