BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Launch Works 
Launch Works (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

[IDT 4.x] Using Multi Source Universe

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Search this topic... | Search Semantic Layer / Universe Designer... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
9052323420
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 19 Jan 2012

Posts: 11



PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 7:09 am 
Post subject: Using Multi Source Universe

Hello Experts,

We are creating Relational Connections to create Data Foundation for MultiSource universe.

One connection is from Oracle 10 g (ODBC)
One connection is from MS SQL Server 2008 (ODBC)

We are successful on creating Relational Connections, but when we are creating a Data Foundation based on the two above mentioned Relational Connections we are facing an Issue.

The Issues Is both the connections are not highlighted to select. i.e, we are unable to select the check box at the connections.
We tried a lot with different combinations of data bases like ( Oracle& SQL Server | Oracle & MS Access | SQL Server & MS Access ) and did not figured out the Issue why It Is happening.
So, did any one faced the Issue and figured out the solution? If so, could you please let us know what should be done.

And we have another doubt : Did really Data Federator configuration Is required to work on Multisource enabled universe?
Is It really effects the Data Foundation In Real Time?

Thanks In Advance
Raj Mahesh
Back to top
Bhupendra
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 02 Mar 2004

Posts: 60
Location: San Francisco, CA



PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:12 pm 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Raj,
You do not need any special configuration in DF Admin Tool in order to create multi-source universe in IDT. That is unless your datasource is a clustered BW environment.

Do you have the 2 ODBC connections setup on the machine you are trying to create Data Foundation layer from?



Bhupendra
SAP BO Architect
Back to top
9052323420
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 19 Jan 2012

Posts: 11



PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:23 am 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Hello Bhupendra,

Yes we have the ODBC set up on the machine that we are trying to connect from.

If you can see the attached screen shot with my post, It Is clearly visible that both the mentioned connections have ODBC enabled. At some point of time long ago, when we tried both the connections are enabled.

Again now we are unable to select the connections here.

Could you please let us know what might be the possible cause? Is It a problem with the 4.0 version, will It be fixed with the next fixed packs or Service packs, as we all know IDT Is the new designed lay out from SAP BO suite.

Many cases suspecting that the IDT will be constant from the service pack 2 as always Business Objects Service Pack 2 will be more stable.

Thanks In Advance
Raj Mahesh
Back to top
Andreas
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 20 Jun 2002

medal_silver.gif*2medal_gold.gif
Posts: 16643
Location: *** BEEP ...Dreaming of Africa... leave No message ; ) BEEP ***


flag
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:13 am 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Which patch level are you on? The current one is: SP 02 Patch 12.
_________________
Follow me on Twitter
Finished: "Mad about the Boy" by Helen Fielding.. me: this has been truly hillarious.
Focusing on Data Visualization, SAP BI 4.x, SAP connectivity, Data Modeling, and SAP HANA Certified Associate
Back to top
Jiboomba
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 11 Aug 2005

Posts: 76



PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:31 am 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

I am guessing that you have the ODBC connections setup in both your local machine and the Server with the same names..

If not, please try creating the ODBC connections on your local machine with the same name as that on the server.

Cheers!
Back to top
sid7862012
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 15 Mar 2012

Posts: 12



PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:30 am 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Export the Connection to repository and Create a short cut. Then try to Create a DF it will allow you to use to connection.
Back to top
Ruune
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 13 Aug 2007
ASUG Icon
Posts: 216
Location: San Antonio, TX


flag
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:10 am 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

make sure they are secured connections. You do this by going to the repository resources, select the open session to the server, insert relational connection. Send the shortcut to the project you're working on.

If you simply go to FILE, NEW, RELATIONAL CONNECTION, it wont work. The connection has to be secured. I dont know why SAP did it this way, but it's the same in FP3 as well.
Back to top
Ram.k
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 21 Jul 2006

Posts: 28
Location: Tampa



PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:01 pm 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Make sure your Adaptive Job Server is up and running. I have seen the same issue and it fixed with Adaptive Job Server restart.
Back to top
BO_Chief
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic



Joined: 06 Jun 2004
ASUG Icon
Posts: 5541
Location: Somewhere on God's Land.


flag
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:20 pm 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Quote:
We are successful on creating Relational Connections, but when we are creating a Data Foundation based on the two above mentioned Relational Connections we are facing an Issue.


Use the correct middleware 32 bit drivers to connect to multiple sources. !!

_________________
help us help you! make sure your post has the following elements:
Does it include BO version, Database, an error, a problem, a SQL for object or Condition ?
Does it include some sample data what you have?
Does it include any code you already tried ? (working or not..)
Did you explain what you want for results?
If any of those elements are missing,chances are you didn't post enough information for us to help you!


Last edited by BO_Chief on Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
The Emu
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 13 Sep 2002

Posts: 275
Location: Sunny London, UK


flag
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:36 am 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Any luck with this - we are experiencing the same issue on SP4 Patch 4.... and everything else suggested prior to this post has proved fruitless...
_________________
The Long Legged one
Back to top
rarna
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 24 Nov 2010

Posts: 4



PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:56 am 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Is there any update on this?
We are currently expiriencing the same issue og BO4 SP4.
Any information will be apreciated:)
Back to top
Rajesh Kumar
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 01 Mar 2012

Posts: 75


flag
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:25 am 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Hi All..

Its Working now:)

Created a separate APS for Data Federator Service

Thanks icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
smritisb
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 18 Oct 2005

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:45 pm 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

All,

Any luck with this? We are facing the same issue. Cannot create multisource data foundation from Oracle source. The source is disabled and cannot select it to create multisource data foundation. I can however use the same connection to create Single source universe.


BO version: XI R4 SP4
OS: Windows

We already have APS created under Data Federator Service in CMC


--Smriti
Back to top
Andreas
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 20 Jun 2002

medal_silver.gif*2medal_gold.gif
Posts: 16643
Location: *** BEEP ...Dreaming of Africa... leave No message ; ) BEEP ***


flag
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:44 am 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

OK, SP 4 and which patch level, please?

Moderator note @Smriti:
I deleted your other post. Please do not cross-post. It leads to fragmented discussions and is against our forum rules.

_________________
Follow me on Twitter
Finished: "Mad about the Boy" by Helen Fielding.. me: this has been truly hillarious.
Focusing on Data Visualization, SAP BI 4.x, SAP connectivity, Data Modeling, and SAP HANA Certified Associate
Back to top
smritisb
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 18 Oct 2005

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:45 pm 
Post subject: Re: Using Multi Source Universe

Hi Andreas,

Apologies for the cross-post.

We are not on any FP.

I have also tried creating multisource universe from my colleagues system today and the same result- source disabled and the same message when you hover over the source. " This data source is not supported in multisource-enabled data foundations"

When I click on Data Federation Services in CMC, I see an APS that is enabled and running.

However even though I am part of the Administrator group, I cannot log on to Data Federation Administration Tool. Wondering if the 2 issues are related.

Error while trying to log on to Data Federation administration tool.

"Cannot connect to the server that hosts the data federation service. (DFA 40001)

[Data Federator Driver] No data federation service was found. Reported error: 'com.crystaldecisions.sdk.exception.SDKException$OCAFramework: Unable to find servers in CMS "

Regards,
Smriti
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 2 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0494 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0032 Parse 0.0357 Other 0.0105)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo