BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Launch Works 
Launch Works (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking


 
Search this topic... | Search Other Products... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Other Products  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
Andreas
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 20 Jun 2002

medal_silver.gif*2medal_gold.gif
Posts: 16531
Location: Dreaming of Africa..


flag
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 5:41 am 
Post subject: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Has anybody worked with so called content linking in Dashboard Builder?
I am struggling on how to set it up icon_rolleyes.gif

_________________
Follow me on Twitter
...Reading: .. oops, no book at hand for now.. how unusual for me

Focusing on Data Visualization, SAP BI 4.0, SAP connectivity, Data Modeling, and SAP HANA Certified Associate
Back to top
Andreas
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 20 Jun 2002

medal_silver.gif*2medal_gold.gif
Posts: 16531
Location: Dreaming of Africa..


flag
PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 7:56 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

To answer my own question:
One has to pass Flash variables from Xcelsius to get the content linking to work. In Xcelsius use Data|Connections, FS command.

_________________
Follow me on Twitter
...Reading: .. oops, no book at hand for now.. how unusual for me

Focusing on Data Visualization, SAP BI 4.0, SAP connectivity, Data Modeling, and SAP HANA Certified Associate
Back to top
michael.callisen
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 18 Jun 2009

Posts: 1



PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 4:16 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Hi Andreas

Did you parse an Xcelsius flash variable from a Xcelsius doc to another Xcelsius doc within Dashboard Builder using content linking?
Did you parse an Xcelsius flash variable from a Xcelsius doc to a Web Intelligece report?

I would very much like to know since I want to use content linking between Xcelsius documents within Dashboard builder, but I haven't succeed.
Back to top
skanthitg
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 25 Jun 2009

Posts: 3



PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:03 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Hi Andreas,

I have a question. I have been trying to use the Content Linking Feature and having some problems. I Have 2 analytics (G1 and G2) ( Both have been created using Xcelsius and are flash files) and 1 web-I report on the dashboard. I make G1 as source and Web-I report as target analytic and pass parameters using FS Command, it works fine. and in another dashboard When I make G1 as Provider and G2 as Consumer and pass values it works fine. But when I combine by making G1 as Source analytic and G2 and the web-I report as the target analytics, the values to G2 are not being passed at all. Only one target is working fine. Please help me with some info on this.

Thanks
Kanthi
Back to top
jskrabak
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 14 Oct 2008

Posts: 8



PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:02 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

I can also get the Xcelsius to WebI content linking working, but am having no luck with the Portal Provider /Consumer option to link two Xcelsius analytics in Dashboard Builder.

Is it possible that this feature only works with Webshere and Sharepoint, but not with Tomcat, or does someone have this working?
Back to top
dcdas
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 17 Jun 2002

speaker.gif*2
Posts: 747
Location: Atlanta


flag
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:35 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Can someone please share the xcelsius report they used to link using Content linking? I am trying to link xcelsius to webi and getting the error:
The requested resource (/ull) is not available.
from tomcat..

_________________
Durgesh Das
IntercontinentalExchange
durgesh.das@theice.com
Back to top
jskrabak
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 14 Oct 2008

Posts: 8



PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:10 pm 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Here's a simple Xcelsius that allows a user to select a value from a text list and passes the corresponding number to a linked Xcelsius and a WebI rpt using Content Linking in Dashboard Builder.

The Xcelsius to Xcelsius link uses Portal Data connection and the Xcelsius to WebI uses the FS Command connection.

I had to zip the file in order to add it as an attachment since BOB won't allow an xlf attachment.
Back to top
dcdas
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 17 Jun 2002

speaker.gif*2
Posts: 747
Location: Atlanta


flag
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:12 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Thanks a lot!! It worked.
_________________
Durgesh Das
IntercontinentalExchange
durgesh.das@theice.com
Back to top
rajatgupta
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 21 Dec 2009

Posts: 9



PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:45 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Hi to all.

icon_smile.gif
I downloaded the Zip file but when I previewed it It started intializing and
and remained in this mode.(for 3-4 minutes so I closed it)

I am using Xcelcius 2008 and I have adobe flash player 9 activex.

Is this may the problem..


Thanks in advance.
Rajat
Back to top
The Emu
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 13 Sep 2002

Posts: 275
Location: Sunny London, UK


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:43 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

I'm still trying to get dashboard builder installed correctly on top of our BOE deployment, but in the meantime have a simple question about content linking:

Is it possible to content link between components that are on different dashboard tabs or is this feature only ever confined to the components on the same tab?

_________________
The Long Legged one
Back to top
raj342
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 04 May 2009

Posts: 56



PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:48 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Hi All,

Is there any additional setup needed for "Content Linking"? We are on BO XI 3.1 (FP 2.5) and Xcelsius 2008. I created a Listbox in Xcelsius and also created a WEBI report with prompt for Country and in dashboard builder i used content linking to link the Xcelsius List box(source) and WEBI report(target), but when i click on different countries in the List box, nothing changes in the WEBI rpeort. Our web server is Apache-tomcat.

The prompt name in WEBI and the formula used in Xcelsius are same that is COUNTRY.

Let me know if you have any inputs..

Thanks
Raj
Back to top
sunny85
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 14 Oct 2010

Posts: 1



PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 7:24 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Hi Raj,

did you tell the fs connection to communicate when the Values of the cell you selected as your Listbox target change?
Without that the connection doesn't send any Data.
Back to top
raj342
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 04 May 2009

Posts: 56



PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:25 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

Hi Sunny,

yes, we figured it out, thanks for your response.

Regards
Rajendra
Back to top
sapphiric28
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 27 Jul 2012

Posts: 1



PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:52 am 
Post subject: Re: Dashboard Builder - How to: Content linking

jskrabak wrote:
Here's a simple Xcelsius that allows a user to select a value from a text list and passes the corresponding number to a linked Xcelsius and a WebI rpt using Content Linking in Dashboard Builder.

The Xcelsius to Xcelsius link uses Portal Data connection and the Xcelsius to WebI uses the FS Command connection.

I had to zip the file in order to add it as an attachment since BOB won't allow an xlf attachment.


Hi,

I am using BO 4.0 and dashboard 4.0.

I am trying to link 2 Xcelsius dashboards using "Portal Data" connection. In BI Launchpad, I am able to link these 2 Xcelsius, but the value is not passed to the second Xcelsius. I have attached my demo and would appreciate if someone could give me some advice.

Cheers,
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Other Products  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0493 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0037 Parse 0.0355 Other 0.0101)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo