BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Streamline and extend SAP BusinessObjects software 
Streamline and extend SAP BusinessObjects software (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload


 
Search this topic... | Search Business Query... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Other Products -> Business Query  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
nbailey
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 19 Apr 2007

Posts: 2


flag
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:44 pm 
Post subject: BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload

A user in our organization is having a problem with BQ 6.5.1: It seems that it's stuck in the "Load" position. She ran a few reports this morning with no problem and says that there were no error messages. After lunch, BQ shows up loaded when she starts Excel 2003, opened directly or through an xls file. Unload does nothing.

- BO Enterprise 6.5.1
- Excel 2003 / Windows XP. Updates are current.
- Rebooting doesn't help.
- Unloading and deleting the xla reference in the registry, then reinstalling the addin doesn't help.
- No error messages were ever generated (afaik)
- I was unable to recreate the problem.
- Yes, the computer is plugged in.

Has anyone else experienced something similar? Google and bob both turn up nothing.
Back to top
Marek Chladny
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 27 Nov 2003

Posts: 17880
Location: Bratislava


flag
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:48 pm 
Post subject: Re: BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload

Moderator note:
Moving from BusinessObjects Classic forum to Business Query forum

_________________
BO: BI 4.1 | XI 3, 3.1 | XI r2 | 6.x | 5.x
DB: Oracle, MS SQL Server, DB2, Teradata, Netezza
HW: Win and Linux servers
www.perpendulum.com

Latest Blog Posts
• 2013-07-16 Number of reports in a WebI document
• 2013-04-01 Optional prompts in a universe
• 2012-06-08 Calendar table script for Oracle
Back to top
nbailey
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 19 Apr 2007

Posts: 2


flag
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 8:07 am 
Post subject: Re: BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload

Now on TWO machines. Identical problem, still can't replicate. Running 6.5.1 repackaged by CGC (a job cost accounting software company)
Back to top
dorange
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 28 Mar 2008

Posts: 1



PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:25 am 
Post subject: Re: BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload

Hi,
I have the same problem today with BO 6.5 SP4. Could you tell me how you resolved the problem ?
BO Support has no answer and tell me "BusinessQuery is not stable", Reinstall the product. (I confirm that this reinstallation does not solve the problem)
Back to top
Chris Pohl
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 18 Jun 2002
ASUG Icon
speaker.gif
Posts: 2814
Location: da' burg


flag
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 2:03 pm 
Post subject: Re: BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload

bump ... any resolution for this? ... thanks
_________________
Chris Pohl
Image link
BOXI 3.1 SP3.2, LCM 3.1 SP3, BOBJ 6.5.SP4, PM 6.5.4
DB2 v8 via CAE 8.1.1.14, Oracle 10g and ODBC (of course)

_________________________

Follow me on Twitter
Search is Your Friendô
Back to top
KSG
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 17 Jul 2002

Posts: 712
Location: Southern CA


flag
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 2:18 pm 
Post subject: Re: BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload

I'm not sure which registry settings apply to 6.x, nor which one you've deleted already. Have you tried deleting the 6.x equivalent of this one?

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Business Objects\BusinessObjects\5.0\username User Prefs

where "username" is the user's system login.

In 5.x, this contains the user's settings within Business Query, one of which is "autoload".

BTW, I've never seen BQ 5.x without the "unload" option. However, I have seen several options grayed out when the user didn't have a blank excel file open. I would also check if there's a personal macro attached to the user's excel that may be wreaking havoc with BQ (Excel and BQ have never played well together...an ironic statement since that's what it's supposed to do!).
Back to top
Chris Pohl
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 18 Jun 2002
ASUG Icon
speaker.gif
Posts: 2814
Location: da' burg


flag
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 2:39 pm 
Post subject: Re: BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload

Hi Karen, Thanks for the quick response icon_wink.gif

A couple of screenshots attached ... LOAD is missing, UNLOAD doesn't do anything

Here's the v6.5 equivalent of the registry key, but i don't see anything specific to Business Query here.
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Business Objects\Suite 6.0\default\BusinessObjects\(username) User Prefs]

I did find the excel registry setting for the add-in ... i'm trying to decipher this one now:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Excel\Options]

_________________
Chris Pohl
Image link
BOXI 3.1 SP3.2, LCM 3.1 SP3, BOBJ 6.5.SP4, PM 6.5.4
DB2 v8 via CAE 8.1.1.14, Oracle 10g and ODBC (of course)

_________________________

Follow me on Twitter
Search is Your Friendô
Back to top
KSG
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 17 Jul 2002

Posts: 712
Location: Southern CA


flag
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 2:46 pm 
Post subject: Re: BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload

How bizarre. Is the open excel file "protected" in any way?

What's the other add in that's not checked? I've not seen "business objects planning" before. Maybe it installed something (a .dll?) that wiped out something for BQ. Is there a way to test this on a PC that doesn't have THAT add in? Or maybe remove both and then just install BQ?
Back to top
Chris Pohl
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 18 Jun 2002
ASUG Icon
speaker.gif
Posts: 2814
Location: da' burg


flag
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 2:53 pm 
Post subject: Re: BusinessQuery 6.5 won't unload

The open spreadsheet is just the blank sheet at excel open

"business objects planning" is cartesis ... i was thinking the same, there might be a conflict here ... although the user says both have worked fine in the past ... my next step is to try the reinstall of bquery and see if it fixes.

Thanks for the thoughts

_________________
Chris Pohl
Image link
BOXI 3.1 SP3.2, LCM 3.1 SP3, BOBJ 6.5.SP4, PM 6.5.4
DB2 v8 via CAE 8.1.1.14, Oracle 10g and ODBC (of course)

_________________________

Follow me on Twitter
Search is Your Friendô
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Other Products -> Business Query  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0500 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0031 Parse 0.0352 Other 0.0117)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo