BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Streamline and extend SAP BusinessObjects software 
Streamline and extend SAP BusinessObjects software (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

Universe level optional prompt without default value


 
Search this topic... | Search Semantic Layer / Universe Designer... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
mohan_mannam
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 28 Feb 2008

Posts: 59



PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:13 am 
Post subject: Universe level optional prompt without default value

Hi all,

Can somebody tell me how to create an optional prompt at universe level with no default value?
I tried below code and got 7th parameter error. Prompt is parsing fine when I keep default value.

SWDDW.JURISDICTION_DIM.JUR_NM In @prompt('Jurisdiction:','A','Jurisdiction\Jur Nm',Multi,Constrained,Persistent,,User:1,optional)

I am using BO XI3.0

Thanks in advance.

Thanks,
Mohan
Back to top
Dave Rathbun
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 06 Jun 2002
ASUG Icon
speaker.gif*16
Posts: 21977
Location: Dallas, Texas


flag
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:20 am 
Post subject: Re: Universe level optional prompt without default value

First, I don't think optional prompts appeared at all until 3.1. Second, they're only supported in Webi and not from Designer. That was the way they were originally presented. You might be able to get the syntax to work once you upgrade, but you need to get to XI 3.1 first.
_________________
Dave's Adventures in Business Intelligence Image link

Latest Blog Posts
• 2014-11-17 Dagira Change Log Script Update Coming Soon
• 2014-08-22 Yes, Virginia, You Can Refresh One Data Provider At A Time
• 2014-07-08 Airlines Could Save Millions in Fuel Costs By Providing Everyone An iPad
Back to top
Dave Rathbun
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 06 Jun 2002
ASUG Icon
speaker.gif*16
Posts: 21977
Location: Dallas, Texas


flag
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:19 pm 
Post subject: Re: Universe level optional prompt without default value

Dave Rathbun wrote:
First, I don't think optional prompts appeared at all until 3.1.

This was wrong; optional prompts on reports came in with version 3.0. But I believe the part about them not being included in the universe @prompt syntax is still valid.

_________________
Dave's Adventures in Business Intelligence Image link

Latest Blog Posts
• 2014-11-17 Dagira Change Log Script Update Coming Soon
• 2014-08-22 Yes, Virginia, You Can Refresh One Data Provider At A Time
• 2014-07-08 Airlines Could Save Millions in Fuel Costs By Providing Everyone An iPad
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0486 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0067 Parse 0.0347 Other 0.0072)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo