BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Want to sponsor BOB? 
Want to sponsor BOB? (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

XI R1 FTP Error Message


 
Search this topic... | Search XI Scheduler... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Enterprise Scheduling and Distribution -> XI Scheduler  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
Chris_W
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 03 May 2006

Posts: 53
Location: Birmingham


flag
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:39 am 
Post subject: XI R1 FTP Error Message

I'm getting the following error message when scheduling reports to an FTP location.

connection error. CrystalEnterprise.Ftp: WSA10054

I've serached the BO knowledge base but can't find a solution to this. Has anyone any ideas?

I've checked FTP username/password/host/port deatils and they are all correct.

Thanks

banghead.gif
Back to top
Thomas T.
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 10 Oct 2006

Posts: 80
Location: Western Europe (Paris)


flag
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:51 am 
Post subject: Re: XI R1 FTP Error Message

Hi,

- Do you have a new instance created?
- Can you schedule to default destination ?
- Can you schedule to an other destination (Unmanged disk or Email) ?

Regards

Thomas

_________________
Thomas TROLEZ
BOCP - BOE
Sr Consultant Expert
www.softntic.com
Back to top
Chris_W
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 03 May 2006

Posts: 53
Location: Birmingham


flag
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:55 am 
Post subject: Re: XI R1 FTP Error Message

Thomas - Thanks for replying so quickly. Yes I can schedule to any other destination no problem. It's just FTP destination I'm having issues with. I can FTP on to the site through IE without a problem using the logon information I am using when scheduling.
Back to top
Thomas T.
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 10 Oct 2006

Posts: 80
Location: Western Europe (Paris)


flag
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:54 am 
Post subject: Re: XI R1 FTP Error Message

Chris_W wrote:

I can FTP on to the site through IE without a problem using the logon information I am using when scheduling.


Do you use a http proxy with IE ?

Thomas

_________________
Thomas TROLEZ
BOCP - BOE
Sr Consultant Expert
www.softntic.com
Back to top
Chris_W
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 03 May 2006

Posts: 53
Location: Birmingham


flag
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:01 am 
Post subject: Re: XI R1 FTP Error Message

Thomas - if I understand your question correctly then No I'm not.
When I FTP to the site through IE I am keying in ftp://ftp.<name of site>
Back to top
Thomas T.
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 10 Oct 2006

Posts: 80
Location: Western Europe (Paris)


flag
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:37 am 
Post subject: Re: XI R1 FTP Error Message

Hi,

What your keyring isn't dependent with ou without http proxy parameter. Look on your IE options. Do your have the "use proxy" check box checked, in Tools->Internet Option->Connections->Lan Settings?

Your ftp server is on your Lan ?

Regards

_________________
Thomas TROLEZ
BOCP - BOE
Sr Consultant Expert
www.softntic.com
Back to top
Chris_W
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 03 May 2006

Posts: 53
Location: Birmingham


flag
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:04 am 
Post subject: Re: XI R1 FTP Error Message

Thomas

No the FTP server is not on our LAN.

Our network guys have just posed to me the following question. Can you help with answering this?

"The firewall rule allows your machine <ip address> to connect to their machine <ip address> over ANY protocol - so there is no filtering between the servers. If you go to the server itself and open Internet Explorer and connect to ftp.<ftp address> you'll see it works, you'll need to login with the credentials you supplied.
Like I said we have had problems in the past using the built in ftp.exe from the command prompt - but this is a known issue with ftp.exe working behind a firewall.
Is it possible to find out whether BO is using the builtin ftp.exe or its own client?"
Back to top
Orange
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 18 Sep 2006

Posts: 1264
Location: Seattle


flag
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:01 am 
Post subject: Re: XI R1 FTP Error Message

Quite an old topic and no real answer, but I just had the same problem and found that we were using an IP address as the hostname. All of a sudden this error message came up: connection error. [WSA10054]: [CrystalEnterprise.Ftp] and we found that changing the IP address to the actual FQDN hostname seemed to fix the issue.
not sure what has changed network-wise, buth thought I'd share this one.

_________________
Berend -
SAP Business Objects Platform consultant and trainer
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Enterprise Scheduling and Distribution -> XI Scheduler  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0292 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0031 Parse 0.0009 Other 0.0252)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo