BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

 
Lead By Knowing (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

[NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric overflow


 
Search this topic... | Search Desktop Intelligence... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Desktop Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
kool
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Apr 2005
ASUG Icon
Posts: 340


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 1:30 pm 
Post subject: [NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric overflow

[NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric overflow occurred during computation. -2616 ??
Back to top
bdouglas
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 29 Aug 2002

Posts: 2837
Location: dayton, OH


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 1:40 pm 
Post subject: Re: [NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric over

That's pretty straightforward - the result of the query is too big for a numeric field... We usually only see that if an application has entered a value in error, usually via money conversion.

If you take that same SQL (from your report View SQL), it should give the same error in Queryman, whatever SQL Tool you have - look for any numbers that are cast to a length (float 10,2) and check the underlying data.

Good luck,
B
Back to top
kool
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Apr 2005
ASUG Icon
Posts: 340


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 1:55 pm 
Post subject: Re: [NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric over

What is the Solution ??? Wht should i do ?
Back to top
bdouglas
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 29 Aug 2002

Posts: 2837
Location: dayton, OH


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 2:42 pm 
Post subject: Re: [NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric over

There are really only 2 options - if the data is incorrect, it must be corrected in the database; if it is correct, the displayed field has to be adjusted to display this value. That means a universe change.

I'd check the object that isn't displaying - if it's set to be 10 digits wide, try 15 and see if you get data.

This may take some SQL outside of BO to resolve, good luck.

B
Back to top
kool
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Apr 2005
ASUG Icon
Posts: 340


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm 
Post subject: Re: [NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric over

Why universe Change? it was running fine Until friday.
when i used Queryman to run the SQL it is saying no more spool space for my userid.

and "I'd check the object that isn't displaying - if it's set to be 10 digits wide, try 15 and see if you get data." what is this mean? and where can i find this.
Back to top
kool
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Apr 2005
ASUG Icon
Posts: 340


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 4:10 pm 
Post subject: Re: [NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric over

Thanks bdouglas.
Problem solved and thanks for your prompt Reply. but i am still confused what that object format mean. is that mean going to object format and formating the numeric value. like #,###0.00
i removed SUM from the SQL and rerun the report.
Back to top
bdouglas
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 29 Aug 2002

Posts: 2837
Location: dayton, OH


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 4:11 pm 
Post subject: Re: [NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric over

Can you post the SQL - with our without the SUM()?

I might be able to point out what was causing this problem better that way.....

Thanks,
B
Back to top
kool
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Apr 2005
ASUG Icon
Posts: 340


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2005 4:28 pm 
Post subject: Re: [NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric over

Actually the data should be in the thousands but it was in millions. thats why it was throwing that error. i have sent email to the DBA and he will work on that. icon_smile.gif
Back to top
bdouglas
Forum Addict
Forum Addict



Joined: 29 Aug 2002

Posts: 2837
Location: dayton, OH


flag
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:29 am 
Post subject: Re: [NCR][ODBC Teradata Driver][Teradata RDBMS] Numeric over

That's exactly the kind of thing that will throw this error - just not enough digits to hold the answers....

Good luck,
Brent
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Desktop Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0474 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0035 Parse 0.0356 Other 0.0082)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo