BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

[Webi 4.x] Use blank cell as an input field for user


 
Search this topic... | Search Web Intelligence... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
rpinxt
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Jan 2019

Posts: 53



PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:08 am 
Post subject: Use blank cell as an input field for user

So I want to build 3 cells into a summary report.

First cell a blank cell in which the user can fill a number.
Second cell which sums the amount from the details report in the same document.

Third cell that calculates the variance between the First and Second cell.

Can this be done?
And if yes how? (the Second cell is not a problem).
Back to top
BarkyBaloo
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 04 Jul 2007

Posts: 171



PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:23 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

It goes back to create a variable/object that then assigns to an input control that then is shown in the report.

Real question is why would you input a manual figure to get a variance ? surely this equates to massaging the data !! and therefore not one truth of the data.




crazy.gif

_________________
BarkyBaloo

Your work is going to fill a large part of your life
And the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work.
And the only way to do great work is to love what you do.
If you haven't found it yet, keep looking.
Don't settle.
As with all matters of the heart
You'll know when you find it.
Back to top
rpinxt
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Jan 2019

Posts: 53



PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:52 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

Well it is not a case of just massaging the data.

The report is a detail report on SAP data.

The number entered is a total number from a specific SAP transaction.
So only on-screen.

The total of the detail lines need to match the number seen on screen.

Of course we can first export it to excel and do it there.
However I seemed me a more elegant solution if we could already do this in BO.

You fill the number that you are expecting.
Refresh the report and get the number of the details.

Variance automatically then gives 0 (hopefully)
Back to top
rpinxt
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Jan 2019

Posts: 53



PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:11 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

But you put me in the right direction.

I made an input field in which you can fill a number and then use that variable in the first cell.

Then from that you can easily get the variance.

However.....it is 1 off.....

When I fill the exact number as already is in the other cell it will substract 1....
All other inputs he will just take fine.

edit: well not all numbers.
The number to fill is € 48.921.277

When I enter 48.921.277 it will show in the cell 48.921.276

When I enter 48.921.278 it will show in the cell 48.921.280

When I enter 48.921.276 it will show in the cell 48.921.276

crazy.gif

Really don't understand. Even when I make a total new report and to this number 48921277 is a no-go...

Can anybody of you guys try?

So I made a variable and then use '=0'
Then put a user control onto it.
Default value 0

Then when I put in 10, 100, 100.000.000 al good.

When you enter 48921277 it will make 48921276 banghead.gif
Back to top
rpinxt
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Jan 2019

Posts: 53



PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 3:45 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

Guess not many people have witnest the same in BO....

Well then I just will see it as something that is not possible with BO.

Today again, it put decimals back thinking maybe that could be the issue (rounding).

But the number I need to enter today 48,341,622.68

And giving this as input result in the cell to.... :

48,341,624.00 cryin.gif

The variable is setup as a measure and therefor a number so I have no clue why the variable turns my input into another number.
Back to top
n8aktiv
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 28 Dec 2018

Posts: 51


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:33 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

be careful when entering numbers with 1000-seperator '.' or ','
the international formatting may be different or sometimes it is not recognized correctly in WebI.

have you tried to format your value in the cell with ToNumber() or FormatNumber() ?
Back to top
rpinxt
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Jan 2019

Posts: 53



PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:45 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

The variable is a Number.

And using:
Code:
=FormatNumber([Input];"#00,000,000.00")


Does not change anything unfortunately.
Webi keeps making its own number and not the number I key in.
Back to top
rpinxt
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Jan 2019

Posts: 53



PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:04 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

Ok now found out when I use thousand separators in the entry it will work!

So if I type 48,921,276.90 it will give this number.

Where 48921276.90 will lead to 48,921,276 crazy.gif

So I was thinking to manipulate the entered value as follows:
=FormatNumber([Input];"#0,000.00"

But it does not work.

Does anybody know how I can type in my number without thousand separators and still it will work like above?
Back to top
n8aktiv
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 28 Dec 2018

Posts: 51


flag
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 6:51 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

I'm still thinking about a localization problem.

Check the global WebI-preferences (product- and viewing-locale), document-preferences (regional formatting),
the login-language and the number-format of the cell (so that you are sure displaying a number and not text),
try using ToNumber() and try using other international number-formatting ( 0,00 instead of 0.00 ) ...
Back to top
rpinxt
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Jan 2019

Posts: 53



PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:18 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

Think you are right.

After I put it in Dutch settings it worked ok.
But that gives lots of other problems in my report with dates etc. icon_sad.gif

So put it back to english.
Still strange I cannot get it to work.

You should be able to fill in a big amount without the thousand separators and still it will give you the amount correct to the decimals which you keyed in.
As i use a "." for decimals exactly as it would be in english.
Back to top
Macroman
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 13 Nov 2002

Posts: 259


flag
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:31 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

Ask your universe designer to create a new dimension object for you make sure its a Character and formatted to your requirements as a string so you can key in as you need to without worrying about formatting issues or locale of browsers or environment.
Back to top
rpinxt
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Jan 2019

Posts: 53



PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:44 am 
Post subject: Re: Use blank cell as an input field for user

Oh my...indirectly you gave me my solution icon_biggrin.gif

I setup the variable I use for the input control as a measure like:

Input
Code:
=0


Now I change it to a dimension like:
Input
Code:
="A"


Then the formula in the cell like :
Code:
=ToNumber([Input];"0,000.00")


And now I can enter my number without thousand separators and still BO will take in the cell exactly what I did type in.
And it will calculate the variance with the outcome of the report just fine icon_biggrin.gif

Thank you!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0327 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0034 Parse 0.0009 Other 0.0284)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo