BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: BOB is going to retire...please see details here.
General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

[IDT 4.x] Plain Text in an object


 
Search this topic... | Search Semantic Layer / Universe Designer... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
mubassir1840
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 02 Jun 2013

Posts: 2
Location: New Jersey


flag
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 11:14 am 
Post subject: Plain Text in an object

Hello All,
I am trying to create an object with just plain text in the Business layer. Is there a way to do that? For Ex: Displaying Terms and Conditions in Invoice reports sent out to customers.
I know its more straightforward to do that in Webi but, the reason I wanted to create in IDT is that I have multiple reports(more than 40) which will be using this object and it will be easier to maintain the object in future by editing in one place rather than changing in multiple reports.

Thank you all for your time and effort.
Back to top
charlie
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 20 Aug 2002

Posts: 903
Location: Woodinville, WA USA


flag
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 12:48 pm 
Post subject: Re: Plain Text in an object

Welcome to Bicon_mrgreen.gifB!

You just create a new dimension, enclose your text in single quotes (for SQL Server), and associate a Table (which one doesn't matter, it's just to prevent the Invalid expression error).

_________________
Regards,

Chaz
Back to top
mubassir1840
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 02 Jun 2013

Posts: 2
Location: New Jersey


flag
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 1:35 pm 
Post subject: Re: Plain Text in an object

Thank You, Charlie. For the warm welcome and your reply. icon_biggrin.gif

I included the expression as you said in single quotes and associated a table with the expression, but it is still throwing me an error as "Invalid Expression."
The text is rather large, about 2487 words. So, I tried another expression with only 5 words, and, the expression was validated fine.
Do you think its because of the 2478 words?

Thanks again for your time. icon_smile.gif
Back to top
charlie
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 20 Aug 2002

Posts: 903
Location: Woodinville, WA USA


flag
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 1:41 pm 
Post subject: Re: Plain Text in an object

Could be. You can always split the text into a few dimensions in the universe, bring them into the report and manipulate them there.
_________________
Regards,

Chaz
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0271 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0029 Parse 0.0008 Other 0.0234)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo