BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

Lift and shift to AWS


 
Search this topic... | Search XI Server Discussion... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Server Administration, Installation, Upgrades -> XI Server Discussion  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
Mike Murray
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 23 Dec 2005

Posts: 469
Location: Des Moines Iowa


flag
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:50 pm 
Post subject: Lift and shift to AWS

We are in the planning stages of moving our infrastructure to the cloud. Plan is a lift and shift. We are currently running BI 4.2 SP4 on Windows 2012 R2 servers and CMS and Audit databases on SQL server 2012. We also run separate Tomcat web servers. my 5 environments = 14 Bobj virtual servers. We are clustered in preprod and prod.

What I have been told so far is that server names will change. Application IDs will change and IP addresses will change.

How much of a rude awakening am I in for?

_________________
Mike Murray
Back to top
charlie
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 20 Aug 2002

Posts: 893
Location: Woodinville, WA USA


flag
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 5:15 pm 
Post subject: Re: Lift and shift to AWS

Yes, the server names and IP addresses will change. My Public DNS changes every time I stop/start the server, but that's because it's part of a POC and we didn't want to spend too much. When we eventually build out a Production environment we'll buy Elastic IPs; then that DNS will be static. The Private DNS and IPs are static; you use those to connect your cluster. You'll have to get comfortable with CIDR notation to build your VPCs and subnets.

Not sure what you mean by Application ID.

_________________
Regards,

Chaz
Back to top
hilfy
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 16 Apr 2007
ASUG Icon
speaker.gif*3
Posts: 1901
Location: Atlanta, GA


flag
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 5:51 pm 
Post subject: Re: Lift and shift to AWS

Because the server names will change, you probably can't just "lift and shift". Because the Server process names (in the Servers section of the CMS) include the server names, none of your system will work without recreating the SIA node on each server. In working with my clients, I've generally done new installs on the cloud servers and then migrated the content from the old system to the new one.

-Dell

_________________
Protiviti
Data & Analytics Practice
https://www.protiviti.com/US-en/data-management-advanced-analytics
Back to top
charlie
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 20 Aug 2002

Posts: 893
Location: Woodinville, WA USA


flag
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:11 pm 
Post subject: Re: Lift and shift to AWS

Yes, we realized early on that "Lift and Shift" wasn't really representative of the effort; it changed to "Transformation and Migration".
_________________
Regards,

Chaz
Back to top
Mike Murray
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 23 Dec 2005

Posts: 469
Location: Des Moines Iowa


flag
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 8:36 am 
Post subject: Re: Lift and shift to AWS

That is not what I wanted to hear but was expecting.

I would like to be able to utilize my current CMS and Audit data (SQL server databases). Our file store is on the D:\ on lower environments and a SAN in production.

Any suggestions on best practice to do that?

_________________
Mike Murray
Back to top
JohnBClark
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 27 Mar 2007
ASUG Icon
Posts: 1033
Location: Appleton, WI USA


flag
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:27 am 
Post subject: Re: Lift and shift to AWS

Mike Murray wrote:
I would like to be able to utilize my current CMS and Audit data (SQL server databases). Our file store is on the D:\ on lower environments and a SAN in production.
What do you mean by this? Do you want to keep your databases and file store on premise or in the cloud? If so, I would think that as long as you have the connectivity, it should work. You may have some issues with latency though.
_________________
BusinessObjects BI4.2sp4, SQL Server 2016 (CMS)
Clustered for fail over redundancy
Reporting Tools: Crystal Reports 2016sp4, Web Intelligence
Operating System: Windows 2016 running on VMWare
Reporting databases: SQL Server, Teradata, DB2, Oracle, Hive
Information Steward 4.2sp10
History: BO5, BO6, XIR2, XI3.1, BI4.1.x
Back to top
Mike Murray
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 23 Dec 2005

Posts: 469
Location: Des Moines Iowa


flag
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:40 am 
Post subject: Re: Lift and shift to AWS

JohnBClark wrote:
Mike Murray wrote:
I would like to be able to utilize my current CMS and Audit data (SQL server databases). Our file store is on the D:\ on lower environments and a SAN in production.
What do you mean by this? Do you want to keep your databases and file store on premise or in the cloud? If so, I would think that as long as you have the connectivity, it should work. You may have some issues with latency though.


Those databases and SAN data would also move to the cloud

_________________
Mike Murray
Back to top
JohnBClark
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 27 Mar 2007
ASUG Icon
Posts: 1033
Location: Appleton, WI USA


flag
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:00 am 
Post subject: Re: Lift and shift to AWS

I don't know if there are any best practices or not. I would think it would work like any other data center move then if you are moving everything.
_________________
BusinessObjects BI4.2sp4, SQL Server 2016 (CMS)
Clustered for fail over redundancy
Reporting Tools: Crystal Reports 2016sp4, Web Intelligence
Operating System: Windows 2016 running on VMWare
Reporting databases: SQL Server, Teradata, DB2, Oracle, Hive
Information Steward 4.2sp10
History: BO5, BO6, XIR2, XI3.1, BI4.1.x
Back to top
charlie
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 20 Aug 2002

Posts: 893
Location: Woodinville, WA USA


flag
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:38 am 
Post subject: Re: Lift and shift to AWS

hilfy wrote:
Because the server names will change, you probably can't just "lift and shift". Because the Server process names (in the Servers section of the CMS) include the server names, none of your system will work without recreating the SIA node on each server. In working with my clients, I've generally done new installs on the cloud servers and then migrated the content from the old system to the new one.

-Dell
Were you able to migrate the CMS and Audit DBs successfully?
_________________
Regards,

Chaz
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Server Administration, Installation, Upgrades -> XI Server Discussion  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0307 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0030 Parse 0.0009 Other 0.0267)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo