BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Want to sponsor BOB? 
Want to sponsor BOB? (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: Upcoming Events: PGHBOUG: Aug 23.

How to resolve loops , need help

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Search this topic... | Search Semantic Layer / Universe Designer... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
preeti_trp
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Jul 2018

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:50 am 
Post subject: How to resolve loops , need help

Hi All,

I need help for resolving loops in the following scenario(attached screenshot)
, I think there are 4 loops in there(data foundation).
Kindly advice.


-Priya
Back to top
surya_sudheer
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 01 Nov 2006

Posts: 627
Location: Chennai


flag
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:56 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

By using alias loops will be resolved. Create alias for Dim_acct as dim_acct1
_________________
SAP BO, BW, Crystal Reports, Tableau
Back to top
Dragoran
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 30 Jul 2009

Posts: 106


flag
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:55 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Like surya_sudheer said, you need to create a different alias when you connect a dimension to more then one fact.
Something like the attached picture:

The DIM_ACCT has aliases for billing and subscription
And the DIM_FUND_CD has an alias for subscrption
Back to top
preeti_trp
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Jul 2018

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:33 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Hi ,

Thanks for your advice,
Is there any other way apart from alias, I think 3 extra tables will be added if I am not wrong?


-Priya
Back to top
surya_sudheer
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 01 Nov 2006

Posts: 627
Location: Chennai


flag
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:42 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

If you create alias only on extra table will be added ie, Dim_acct table as dim_acct1
_________________
SAP BO, BW, Crystal Reports, Tableau
Back to top
preeti_trp
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Jul 2018

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:54 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Hi ,

Please find the screenshot below:

After adding alias tables the structure will look like this, so in total there will be 3 alias tables.. icon_question.gif

-Priya
Back to top
surya_sudheer
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 01 Nov 2006

Posts: 627
Location: Chennai


flag
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:58 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Can you attach the screenshot of the universe
_________________
SAP BO, BW, Crystal Reports, Tableau
Back to top
preeti_trp
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Jul 2018

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 5:11 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Sorry

Missed the attachment..


-Preeti
Back to top
surya_sudheer
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 01 Nov 2006

Posts: 627
Location: Chennai


flag
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 5:41 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Only alias table is enough, If you see your first image there is only one loop, so to break loop we use one alias. So from the latest image you have 8 tables including aliases, but only one alias is enough. Dim_acct_billing(dim_acct) and dim_act both are same, you can remove any one. dim_fund_cd1 also not required as dim_fund_cd and dim_fund_cd1 both are same.
_________________
SAP BO, BW, Crystal Reports, Tableau
Back to top
Dragoran
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 30 Jul 2009

Posts: 106


flag
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:25 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

In the original picture, there are 3 different loops:
1. DIM_BILLING -> DIM_ACCT -> FACT_TRRANSACTION -> DIM_BILLING
2. DIM_SUBSCRIPTION -> FACT_TRANSACTION -> DIM_FUND_CD -> DIM_SUBSCRIPTION
3. DIM_SUBSCRIPTION -> DIM_ACCT -> FACT_TRANSACTION -> DIM_SUBSCRIPTION

There is another way - you can use contexts.
And define that in every context, the joins won't create a loop.
It's more complicated, and has a potential of confusing the users (when they run a report - it would ask them which context to use)
Back to top
preeti_trp
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Jul 2018

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:05 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Hi,

There is one more loop apart from the 3 loops you mentioned.

DIM_SUBSCRIPTION -> DIM_ACCT -> FACT_TRANSACTION-> DIM_FUND_CD-> DIM_SUBSCRIPTION

, Can we resolve using shortcut join icon_question.gif


-Priya
Back to top
surya_sudheer
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 01 Nov 2006

Posts: 627
Location: Chennai


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:50 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Thru context you can resolve the loop and not thru shortcut join
_________________
SAP BO, BW, Crystal Reports, Tableau
Back to top
preeti_trp
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Jul 2018

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:31 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Can you please tell me how to create context and how amny contexts are required in this case?
Back to top
surya_sudheer
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 01 Nov 2006

Posts: 627
Location: Chennai


flag
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:05 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

right click on the universe and select the context and select the joins which you want to include in the context
_________________
SAP BO, BW, Crystal Reports, Tableau
Back to top
preeti_trp
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Jul 2018

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:42 am 
Post subject: Re: How to resolve loops , need help

Hi,

I understand, but which contexts to take, which all path to take, I think that depends on business scenario ?


-Priya
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 2 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0312 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0024 Parse 0.0010 Other 0.0278)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo