BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

CMC: Database Credentials - How is it populated?


 
Search this topic... | Search CMC... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Security and User Administration -> CMC  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
charlie
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 20 Aug 2002

Posts: 824
Location: Woodinville, WA USA


flag
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 6:03 pm 
Post subject: CMC: Database Credentials - How is it populated?

Most of the users were brought in through Win AD Groups. In the CMC, under Users and Groups, on the User Properties page, there is a Database Credentials section. How does it get populated? Does it need to be populated? If not, how do you update Win AD groups and NOT have it populated? I'm looking at my users' properties, and can't see a distinct pattern - some are populated with their own names, some are blank, some are enabled, some are not enabled, and some have the administrator's name.
_________________
Regards,

Chaz
Back to top
JohnBClark
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 27 Mar 2007
ASUG Icon
Posts: 990
Location: Appleton, WI USA


flag
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 9:58 am 
Post subject: Re: CMC: Database Credentials - How is it populated?

Database credentials is only used for single sign-on to the database. If you don't use this, then you don't need to worry about it.

If you do want to use single sign-on to the database, then the user would be accessing the database using their own credentials. I would think you would leave it blank in this case because their ID and password should be passing through with single sign-on.

As to why some of them would be populated and some not, I would guess that at some point an Administrator updated them. I would think the Administrator name would not be valid as I would think it would not have any access to a database anyway.

_________________
BusinessObjects BI4.2sp4, SQL Server 2016 (CMS)
Clustered for fail over redundancy
Reporting Tools: Crystal Reports 2016sp4, Web Intelligence
Operating System: Windows 2016 running on VMWare
Reporting databases: SQL Server, Teradata, DB2, Oracle
Information Steward 4.2sp10
History: BO5, BO6, XIR2, XI3.1, BI4.1.x
Back to top
tom_kar
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 30 Jun 2015

Posts: 68
Location: Czech Republic / Austria


flag
PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 6:52 am 
Post subject: Re: CMC: Database Credentials - How is it populated?

>>.. the User Properties page, there is a Database Credentials section

IMHO these credentials are used if the connection is configured to use the BO credentials mapping.
T.
Back to top
charlie
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 20 Aug 2002

Posts: 824
Location: Woodinville, WA USA


flag
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 11:30 am 
Post subject: Re: CMC: Database Credentials - How is it populated?

Hmm, not sure if that applies here. There are only 6 connections and they all use service accounts.

At any rate, after I removed all the WinAD groups and re-promoted them from prod, the issue resolved itself. Now, in the Database Credentials section, Enable is un-checked and nothing in the Account Name block.

_________________
Regards,

Chaz
Back to top
joepeters
Forum Fanatic
Forum Fanatic



Joined: 29 Aug 2002

Posts: 6441
Location: Connecticut, USA


flag
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 12:59 pm 
Post subject: Re: CMC: Database Credentials - How is it populated?

Sounds like someone was experimenting with passthrough authentication at some point in the past and did not remove or disable the database credential settings.

Database credentials won't actually do anything unless the user attempts to refresh a report that uses a universe with a connection set to passthrough authentication.
Back to top
charlie
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 20 Aug 2002

Posts: 824
Location: Woodinville, WA USA


flag
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 2:19 pm 
Post subject: Re: CMC: Database Credentials - How is it populated?

That could very well be the case. The person who originally administered that environment is long gone and AFAIK, didn't have any BOE experience.

Anyway, I've built all the connections and none of them use passthrough, so we should be good.

_________________
Regards,

Chaz
Back to top
RensH
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 18 Jun 2007
ASUG Icon
Posts: 141


flag
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 9:25 am 
Post subject: Re: CMC: Database Credentials - How is it populated?

joepeters wrote:
Sounds like someone was experimenting with passthrough authentication at some point in the past and did not remove or disable the database credential settings.

Database credentials won't actually do anything unless the user attempts to refresh a report that uses a universe with a connection set to passthrough authentication.

I found (quite a lot of) users in our system to have this "enabled" indeed.
I know BOB Downloads somewhere has a "script" to "set user preferences" or such, but I doubt the script can be set to ONLY update that one field "enable DB credentials" and/or disable that field + wipe the **** from the pwd field.

is there anyone on BOB who "removed" such a setting (for all users or for a group) without changing anything else ?
Can it be done without "expensive third party tools"
( Yes I know, just like nail polish remover: cheap solutions always have drawbacks - they may be poisonous )

_________________
Transitioning to : XI 4.2 (SP3)
(Mostly WebI docs using universes, no voyager etc -yet- but (very few) dashboards )
LDAP eDirectory , repository on oracle.


Phasing out : BI 4.1 SP5 . Mostly Webi.
Phased out : BO-XI 3.1 SP6 . Mostly Webi.
Phased out : BO651, full clients. No Webi.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Security and User Administration -> CMC  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0317 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0028 Parse 0.0009 Other 0.0280)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo