BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Want to sponsor BOB? 
Want to sponsor BOB? (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: Upcoming Events: IBIS 2018: Jun 18, BI & HANA 2018 Prague: Jun 29.

Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name


 
Search this topic... | Search Semantic Layer / Universe Designer... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
Hatter42
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Feb 2018

Posts: 5



PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:46 pm 
Post subject: Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name

We have a universe for reporting on Dynamics & the tables do not have the schema pre-fix

A new computer is encountering problems with reporting on the universe
It doesn't seem to recognise that any of the tables are in the universe and returns an error:
'Exception: DBD, [Microsoft][SQL Server Native Client 11.0][SQL Server]Statement(s) could not be prepared.State: 42000'

It appears to be looking for their full table names including schema pre-fix, & can read data if a table is re-added

This is the only computer to encounter this issue, so I'm assuming it's a settings issue

Please can you point me in the right direction?
Thanks
Back to top
jemstar
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 30 Mar 2006

Posts: 774
Location: Dublin , Ireland


flag
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:55 pm 
Post subject: Re: Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name

How are you authenticating against the Dynamics database?
_________________
regards,

James

http://www.jemstar.ie/

Available for Contract Work In Ireland (and remote work worldwide)

Expert in Universe Creation directly over Enterprise applications (JDE, BMC Remedy, EBMS, Jira, ArisG, Bespoke, Mercator, RAPID, M3, Movex, Investpro)
Back to top
Hatter42
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Feb 2018

Posts: 5



PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:49 am 
Post subject: Re: Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name

Hi James

Sorry about the delay in responding
We're using SQL Server authentication with a login ID & Password (See image)

Regards
Richard
Back to top
jemstar
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 30 Mar 2006

Posts: 774
Location: Dublin , Ireland


flag
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:58 am 
Post subject: Re: Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name

So two things

Check if the SQL Server user database account you are using has access to more that one database
e.g.

you have DBs called PROD and TEST
you have a table called SALES
if the user account has access to both DBs, then the universe will have use PROD.SALES and TEST.SALES to resolve the query

If you sort out the issue above, then you need to remove the owner from all the tables in the universe

_________________
regards,

James

http://www.jemstar.ie/

Available for Contract Work In Ireland (and remote work worldwide)

Expert in Universe Creation directly over Enterprise applications (JDE, BMC Remedy, EBMS, Jira, ArisG, Bespoke, Mercator, RAPID, M3, Movex, Investpro)
Back to top
Hatter42
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Feb 2018

Posts: 5



PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 7:32 am 
Post subject: Re: Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name

Hi James

I think that's a blind alley
The user in question is a shared user for reporting purposes, used by a variety of colleagues on a selection of machines
It's only on one laptop that we encounter this problem

Regards
Richard
Back to top
jemstar
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 30 Mar 2006

Posts: 774
Location: Dublin , Ireland


flag
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:53 pm 
Post subject: Re: Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name

If the new machine is 64bit, did you create the ODBC connection as 32 bit?
_________________
regards,

James

http://www.jemstar.ie/

Available for Contract Work In Ireland (and remote work worldwide)

Expert in Universe Creation directly over Enterprise applications (JDE, BMC Remedy, EBMS, Jira, ArisG, Bespoke, Mercator, RAPID, M3, Movex, Investpro)
Back to top
Hatter42
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Feb 2018

Posts: 5



PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:20 am 
Post subject: Re: Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name

Hi James
It is a 32bit ODBC on a 64bit computer, however that's the same as on the other computers
Regards
Richard
Back to top
jemstar
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 30 Mar 2006

Posts: 774
Location: Dublin , Ireland


flag
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:23 am 
Post subject: Re: Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name

I assume you opened odbcad32.exe from both locations to confirm?
_________________
regards,

James

http://www.jemstar.ie/

Available for Contract Work In Ireland (and remote work worldwide)

Expert in Universe Creation directly over Enterprise applications (JDE, BMC Remedy, EBMS, Jira, ArisG, Bespoke, Mercator, RAPID, M3, Movex, Investpro)
Back to top
Hatter42
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Feb 2018

Posts: 5



PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:54 am 
Post subject: Re: Unable to report on Universe with removed Schema Name

Hi James

I opened the 'ODBC Data Source Administrator (32-bit)' & checked the 'System DSN' tab
I also opened the 'ODBC Data Source Administrator (64-bit)' which showed the same information

Regards
Richard
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0313 seconds using 18 queries. (SQL 0.0231 Parse 0.0003 Other 0.0079)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo