BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Want to sponsor BOB? 
Want to sponsor BOB? (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

Crystal Reports to Hadoop


 
Search this topic... | Search Crystal Reports... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Crystal Reports  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
jdchubb
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 12 Jan 2015

Posts: 14



PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:45 am 
Post subject: Crystal Reports to Hadoop

Hi all, hoping someone might have some experience in connecting Crystal Reports to Hadoop and could help me out.

I've managed to get it to connect and can do all the basics, after making a few of the registry changes to fix join syntax and stuff.

The current issue I'm stuck on is creation and usage of Parameters.
Neither static or dynamic work properly.
The reason why is because when Crystal executes the query to pull back the list of values, the syntax is
SELECT DISTINCT [columnname] FROM [table] GROUP BY [columnname]

While this syntax is redundant, and would work in a Teradata or MS SQL environment for example, it is invalid against Hadoop, so it fails.

I cannot find any registry entry outlined in SAP's provided details that would fix this. Results are the same whether using ODBC or JDBC.

I'm using Crystal Reports 2016 SP3 Patch 4.

Thanks for any help!
Jesse
Back to top
hilfy
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 16 Apr 2007
ASUG Icon
speaker.gif*3
Posts: 1790
Location: Atlanta, GA


flag
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:24 am 
Post subject: Re: Crystal Reports to Hadoop

I would try writing a command for each of the dynamic parameters. Commands use the database syntax instead of Crystal's. The trick will be that the commands for these parameters will NOT be joined to other data in the report and the commands themselves will only be used for dynamic parameters - their data will NOT be used elsewhere in the report.

For more info about commands, see my blog post here: https://blogs.sap.com/2015/04/01/best-practices-when-using-commands-with-crystal-reports/

-Dell

_________________
DecisionFirst Technologies - a Protiviti Enterprise
Nine-time SAP BusinessObjects Partner of the Year.
www.decisionfirst.com
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Crystal Reports  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0098 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0028 Parse 0.0002 Other 0.0069)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo