BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Want to sponsor BOB? 
Want to sponsor BOB? (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: Upcoming Events: PGHBOUG: Aug 31.

Conditional formatting not working as expected.


 
Search this topic... | Search Web Intelligence... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
Raithier
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 10 Aug 2017

Posts: 2



PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:39 pm 
Post subject: Conditional formatting not working as expected.

Hello all,

Really appreciate the forum, first time post so forgive my ignorance.

I am trying to have conditional formatting applied to a Cell in a Cross Table.

The cell has a numerical value and I am capturing a percentage value from user input and putting it into a Measure Variable called [InputPercent]

=21

I convert the measure variable to a percentage value and get the percentage of the Cell Value [Average Days To Close]:
FYI: [Average Days To Close] = 14.5

=(Sum([InputPercent]/100) * [Average Days To Close])
= 3.05

I then add this to [Average Days to Close] in a new Measure Variable called UpperControlLimit:
=[Average Days To Close] + [PercentOfDTC]

= 17.55

I then add this to my cells conditional formatting called OverLimit:
=[Average Days To Close] > [UpperControlLimit]

I am just expecting this to check if [Average Days to Close] is Greater Than [UpperControlLimit] (17.5) and then highlight the cell if it is.

Doesnt work this way. It isnt highlighting any of the cells.

Seems I am missing the intended functionality somewhere?

FYI This works if I put in a static value of 17.55 and if I put in the direct [InputPercent].

It is when I change it to [UpperControlLimit].

Any ideas?

SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform 4.2 Support Pack 2 Patch 3
Version: 14.2.2.2095

Many thanks.
Back to top
datawizard
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 20 Jan 2015

Posts: 280



PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:04 pm 
Post subject: Re: Conditional formatting not working as expected.

It appears from what you stated that:

[Average Days to Close] is a fixed value of 14.5 (Please confirm)

with your UpperControlLimit = [Average Days To Close] + [PercentOfDTC]

How could you ever expect to get an overlimit condition when

OverLimit =[Average Days To Close] > [UpperControlLimit]

(effectively same as )

14.5 > ( 14.5 + [PercentOfDTC] )

at best, with user percentage input of zero you would get 14.5 > 14.5 which will never trigger the conditional.

I'm thinking that you should just be applying the condition...
When Cell Value > [UpperControlLimit]
Back to top
Raithier
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 10 Aug 2017

Posts: 2



PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 am 
Post subject: Re: Conditional formatting not working as expected.

[ Average Days to Close ] is a value from the Universe based off the type of product chosen and is determined by the report query. It can vary based off what the query returns.

I.E:
Product 1 [ Average Days to Close ] = 14.5
Product 1 [ Average Days to Close ] = 16.8

The [ UpperControlLimit ] is the [ Average Days to Close ] + the percentage of Days to close.

So if Days to close was 14.5 then [ PercentOfDTC ] 3.05 so [ UpperControlLimit ] is 14.5 + 3.05 = 17.55.

I would expect it to be validating that [ Average Days to Close ] is > 17.55 at this point and not 14.5 > 14.5.

I hope this clarifies.

Also when I put a direct value in for UpperControlLimit such as 17.55, it works. Its only when I am using the calculated value for UpperControlLimit.

Thanks for any assistance!
Back to top
tendernips
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 27 Jul 2017

Posts: 7



PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:45 pm 
Post subject: Re: Conditional formatting not working as expected.

Have you tried making a flag =if [Avg days] > [upper control] then 1 else 0 then setting the conditional formatting on that flag? I've run into some situations where just skipping the middle steps and creating a separate variable to run it has saved more time and trouble than trying to diagnose each step of the process.

edit: Also, having reread the steps, datawizard is correct and this will never trigger from what I'm understanding...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0123 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0030 Parse 0.0002 Other 0.0091)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo