BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: Upcoming Events: PGHBOUG: Aug 31.

Change data source type or map existing data source items?


 
Search this topic... | Search Lumira / Visual Intelligence... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Other Products -> Lumira / Visual Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
norty303
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 19 Mar 2003

Posts: 604


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 5:43 am 
Post subject: Change data source type or map existing data source items?

So I've just spent 2-3 weeks developing a test case dashboard in Lumira (1.31.6) as a way of evaluating the product for suitability (it's been horrible, I won't lie - too many niggles making the application just work... not sure how they think this is an 'end user' tool, I'm the head BO dev/admin and its confounded me and continually not worked in various ways!)

Upon publishing it to our BI Platform I've suddenly discovered that I'm unable to schedule it as I used the 'Universe' data source (which doesn't support scheduling) and I should've used the 'SAP Universe Query Panel' extension (which currently won't work as it throws a DSL Service Provider error - using single source UNX - currently with our support providers)

Assuming that I do actually manage to get the extension working, is there a way to convert my data source to the extension data source? Or map the existing objects to a new one?
A lot of work has gone into custom filters and calculated dimensions and I'm not sure I have the will to start again from the beginning.

Please tell me there's some light at the end of this dark tunnel....? (and its not just a train coming...)

Thanks

_________________
Production: Win7 client, Source DB: SQL Server 2008 to 2012, Server OS: Win Server 2012, SBOP 4.2 SP3 Patch 2
Back to top
ABILtd
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 08 Feb 2006
ASUG Icon
Posts: 1712


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 7:05 am 
Post subject: Re: Change data source type or map existing data source item

I think it might be a train mate. There are a lot of things that they just didn`t seem to think of in terms of Lumira in an enterprise setting, and then when they started focusing on Lumira 2.0, they ramped down any further development on 1.x.

Don`t get me started on Lumira 2.0...!

_________________
BI and Analytics Presales Consultant
------------------------------------------------------
BOXI R1, R2, R3, R3.1, CE 8, 8.5, 9, 10, Crystal Reports, JasperServer, iReport, LogiAnalytics, BIRST, Qlikview, Xcelcius, Netezza, T-SQL, PLSQL, DTS, SSIS, BODI, BODS, Kimble etc....
------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
norty303
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 19 Mar 2003

Posts: 604


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 7:10 am 
Post subject: Re: Change data source type or map existing data source item

Oh, and here was me thinking that Lumira 2.0 might resolve some of the pain...
_________________
Production: Win7 client, Source DB: SQL Server 2008 to 2012, Server OS: Win Server 2012, SBOP 4.2 SP3 Patch 2
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Other Products -> Lumira / Visual Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0120 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0034 Parse 0.0002 Other 0.0084)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo