BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: Upcoming Events: SAP TechEd: Sep 28.

Manually fill a dimension


 
Search this topic... | Search Web Intelligence... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
SťamusObstat
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 27 Apr 2017

Posts: 12



PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:14 pm 
Post subject: Manually fill a dimension

Hi All,

I want a simple column graph to show the value (sales) for:
    One store
    That store's district
    That store's state

It's easy enough to get the values for each of these categories (which are hierarchical - the store is in a district, which is in a state - if that makes any difference).

The part I'm having trouble with is how to display them as categories in a chart. Is it possible to manually fill a dimension-type variable with 'Store X', 'District X', 'State X'?

Sorry if this is ridiculously easy, but I haven't been able to crack it.

Peter
Back to top
SťamusObstat
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 27 Apr 2017

Posts: 12



PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:43 pm 
Post subject: Re: Manually fill a dimension

Bump ... no takers?

Maybe this is an odd request, but it seems like something users would want, to easily compare a store with its district and its state.
Back to top
Maddye
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 09 Jan 2009

Posts: 116
Location: Cambridge


flag
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 3:43 am 
Post subject: Re: Manually fill a dimension

Possibly do something with input controls? You'd probably need to have the control on the store, and you'd probably need 3 charts side-by-side. You'd also need to define 3 measure variables for sales by store, sales by state etc.
_________________
Next available for contract work November 2017
Back to top
SťamusObstat
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 27 Apr 2017

Posts: 12



PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:47 pm 
Post subject: Re: Manually fill a dimension

Thanks Maddye, I'm glad to know it wasn't a no-brainer at least icon_mrgreen.gif
Back to top
simonreporter
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 16 Oct 2015

Posts: 20



PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:38 am 
Post subject: Re: Manually fill a dimension

Is this not 2 additional aggregate variables with output contexts of district and state? Sorry if I have misunderstood
Back to top
SťamusObstat
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 27 Apr 2017

Posts: 12



PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:21 pm 
Post subject: Re: Manually fill a dimension

Thanks simonreporter,

How would I display them as categories on the same column chart though?

As an example, my electricity bill has a column graph showing my quarterly use vs my use for the same time last year, and the mean electricity use for others in my town. That's the kind of thing I'm thinking of.
Back to top
Maddye
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 09 Jan 2009

Posts: 116
Location: Cambridge


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:00 am 
Post subject: Re: Manually fill a dimension

I think you'd need to add them as multiple measures when you're creating the chart. (Assign data in Webi 4.x seems to have the ability to add multiple categories on both axes and data series.) Mind you, I haven't done much with charts in BO, I've tended to do more with charts in Excel as that was how we were presenting the data for self-service reporting.

You'll probably need to play around with geographies as well to get the dynamic interaction between store, city and state.

(Hmm, this gives me an idea of how to present some data in some reports I'm building, but I need to create a no-filter version of a measure for the 'everyone' data series...)

_________________
Next available for contract work November 2017
Back to top
erik.stenson
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 30 Jul 2012

Posts: 1126


flag
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:34 pm 
Post subject: Re: Manually fill a dimension

what are the source objects you have to work with? I'm assuming you're getting one sales measure object? I think that probably the easiest would be to create one data provider for each level of the hierarchy. If needed (doesn't seem so for this use case) you can merge any dimensions. So one query would get the measure for store, and the next dp for district, and one for state. then you would select the new bar chart and drag those three measures on it to show 3 bars together in one graph.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0116 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0033 Parse 0.0002 Other 0.0081)
CCBot/2.0 (http://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo