BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

Read Me: Best Way to Resolve Loops Context? Alias?
8 members found this topic helpful
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
 
Search this topic... | Search Semantic Layer / Universe Designer... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
Mak 1
Forum Aficionado
Forum Aficionado



Joined: 06 Jan 2005

Posts: 13981
Location: London


flag
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 10:12 am 
Post subject: Re: Read Me: Best Way to Resolve Loops Context? Alias?

One of the support guys from my old company Skyped me to ask me last week (why I am still helping them I don`t know!)

Its for charidee bud, charidee lol.gif

So it wasnt a problem with contexts perse, Andy, it just couldn't handle that setting?

I believe that box is actually checked by default, when you create a new universe cuss.gif .

_________________
Next Available for Contract Work - January 2018

Business Objects Versions 4,5,6, XI R2, 3.2, 4.1 SP3
Oracle, SQL Server, Sybase, Netezza, SAP BW.

Red Adair: "If you think it's expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur."
Back to top
ABILtd
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast



Joined: 08 Feb 2006
ASUG Icon
Posts: 1881


flag
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:32 am 
Post subject: Re: Read Me: Best Way to Resolve Loops Context? Alias?

Mak 1 wrote:
One of the support guys from my old company Skyped me to ask me last week (why I am still helping them I don`t know!)

Its for charidee bud, charidee lol.gif

So it wasnt a problem with contexts perse, Andy, it just couldn't handle that setting?

I believe that box is actually checked by default, when you create a new universe cuss.gif .


I`m sure explorer has similar issues with either split\synced queries and contexts too. They get all exited trying to sell us these tools when they don`t fully support all their clever query handling principles!

_________________
BI and Analytics Presales Consultant
------------------------------------------------------
BOXI R1, R2, R3, R3.1, R4.1, R4.2, CE 8, 8.5, 9, 10, SAP Analytics Cloud, Crystal Reports, Lumira, PowerBI, Tableau, JasperServer, iReport, LogiAnalytics, BIRST, Qlikview, Xcelcius, Netezza, T-SQL, PLSQL, DTS, SSIS, BODI, BODS, Kimble etc....
------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
ravikant
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 10 Jul 2015

Posts: 5



PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 2:43 am 
Post subject: Re: Read Me: Best Way to Resolve Loops Context? Alias?

Basically resolving loop is depending upon the situation/scenario,If there is more than 1 fact table is available the then go for Context...
And always Context is the best way t resolve loop.. icon_surprised.gif
Back to top
Mark P
Forum Devotee
Forum Devotee



Joined: 03 Feb 2003
ASUG Icon
Posts: 11422
Location: Manchester, UK


flag
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 3:41 am 
Post subject: Re: Read Me: Best Way to Resolve Loops Context? Alias?

ravikant wrote:
Basically resolving loop is depending upon the situation/scenario,If there is more than 1 fact table is available the then go for Context...
And always Context is the best way t resolve loop.. icon_surprised.gif


No it isn't.
You'd use an alias if the dimension table has two different uses (think about the country table in Island resorts universe used for Resort Country and Customer Country). Context would not be the best way to resolve that loop.

_________________
Current version I'm using: 4.1 SP3 over Oracle. Well versed in SQL Server too, including SSIS

______________________________________
Prior versions used: BO3,4,5,6.5,XIr2,XI3, 4.1 - yes, I have been using BO since 1996!
Back to top
Andreas
Forum Advocate
Forum Advocate



Joined: 20 Jun 2002

medal_silver.gif*2medal_gold.gif
Posts: 17345
Location: *** BEEP ...Dreaming of Africa... leave No message ; ) BEEP ***


flag
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 3:15 am 
Post subject: Re: Read Me: Best Way to Resolve Loops Context? Alias?

I felt soo compelled to REPEAT my rule of thumb:

- If you have multiple fact tables with some shared dimensions, then do use universe contexts to "separate" the fact tables, thereby resolving loops and resolving so called chasm traps as well

- If a dimension table plays multiple roles, e.g. Country (shipped from) & Country (shipped to) then alias the dimension table

_________________
Follow me on Twitter
Reading "The Design Of Everyday Things" by Don Norman
Focusing on Data Visualization, Design Thinking, SAP DesignStudio + scripting, SAP BI 4.x platform & architecture, SAP connectivity, Data Modeling, and SAP HANA Certified Associate
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Semantic Layer / Universe Designer  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 10 of 10 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0281 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0025 Parse 0.0009 Other 0.0247)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo