BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

[Webi 4.x] Sort in Reading Mode


 
Search this topic... | Search Web Intelligence... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
biskin1
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 17 Aug 2012

Posts: 25



PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 4:10 pm 
Post subject: Sort in Reading Mode

Is there a way to allow a user to sort by a column in reading mode (not design mode)? In other words I want a report reader to be able to click on a column header to sort by that column as a way to interact with the report.
Back to top
surya_sudheer
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 01 Nov 2006

Posts: 683
Location: Chennai


flag
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:13 am 
Post subject: Re: Sort in Reading Mode

It is not possible to sort a column in reading mode.
Back to top
MBLM
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 31 Jan 2014

Posts: 210


flag
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:01 am 
Post subject: Re: Sort in Reading Mode

Actually this maybe should be a rights-issue but I don't think you can solve it that way.

But, there's a workaround!

One could debat the advisability of this workaround, but it works (4.1SP3) so why not.

Say you have a table with State, City, Lines and quantity sold.
Create these variables

Code:
Sort_on=""
Sort_value=if Reportfilter([Sort_on])="State" then [State] else
if Reportfilter([Sort_on])="City" then [City] else
if Reportfilter([Sort_on])="Lines" then [Lines]


Make Sort_value the first column of your table and hide it.

Create an inputcontrol on Sort_on with the following settings:
- Single value
- "the choice-rounds" (our installation is in Dutch, don't know how this is called in English, but I think you'll understand)
- Label something like "Sort on:"
- Searchlist? click most right on the box with the three dots to type State;City;Lines (they won't be in the LOV so you have to type them!
and finish.

Inputcontrols are intended to be a filter but, in this case, chosing a single value results in "filling" the variable Sort_on with the same value for all rows because it is independent of the contents of the rows, being simply the word "State" or ....
So actually there won't be any filtering. Sort_value will be filled with all values your chosen dimension (or perhaps measure) contains. And, if you have no other sorts defined, then the table will automatically be sorted on the first column, the hidden "Sortvalue".
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Building Reports -> Web Intelligence  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0281 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0030 Parse 0.0009 Other 0.0243)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo