BOB: Business Objects Board
Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP

Register | Login 

Follow BOB on Twitter! 
Follow BOB on Twitter! (Opens a new window)  

General Notice: No events within the next 45 days.

[FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double (0)

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Search this topic... | Search DI: Designer and Job Design... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Data Integrator -> DI: Designer and Job Design  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
LymedoBI
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 08 Aug 2013

Posts: 62
Location: Manchester UK



PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 2:01 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

H. Westerhof wrote:
Does anyone has this error after upgrading to DS 4.2 SP3?

The ADAPT no. mentioned above (ADAPT01730269) is not mentioned in the release notes. icon_sad.gif


I'm on 4.2 SP3 and I'm getting this error.

Take a look at KB 1987908 for a intrim fix.
Back to top
H. Westerhof
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 26 Mar 2010

Posts: 65
Location: Groningen


flag
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:38 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

Thanks for the SAP note.

However my jobs cannot get started when patching the work around files.

Bottomline, I have production ETL which crashes randomly in the night, and according to the same SAP note, the scheduled fix is planned for SP3 Patch 3, or later because they can change the schedule without prior notification.

I'm going to file another incident about this, that it's taking too long and that it's affecting our customer satisfaction.
Back to top
wahey
Forum Associate
Forum Associate



Joined: 31 May 2007

Posts: 971
Location: Leiden, The Netherlands


flag
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 6:17 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

I saw it was mentioned in the SP3 PL2 release notes.
Quote:
ADAPT01730269
A Data Services job may fail with the error message "Error: <[FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double ()" if conversion takes place between integer/double to decimal. To resolve this issue, set Use_Decimal_Mutex=1 in the [AL_Engine] section of the DSConfig.txt file.

Apparently changing/adding a parameter to the dsconfig.txt file on your job server(s) is also required. I haven't tried it yet. Will do on my sandbox this week though.

_________________
A post a day keeps the doctor away.
Back to top
Alterego
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Sep 2003

Posts: 84
Location: The Netherlands


flag
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 8:17 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

I have installed the patch and added this parameter.

After many test runs with jobs in which we previously could reproduce the problem easily, I haven't seen the FROMDBLOVER error anymore.
Back to top
H. Westerhof
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 26 Mar 2010

Posts: 65
Location: Groningen


flag
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:02 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

We installed SP3 Patch 2, but unfortunately another error arises. It's almost the same though.

Any ideas?

Code:
Error: <[FROMLDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from long double (0)>.


(Ps watch the difference, this time it's FROMLDBLOVER instead of FROMDBLOVER)
Back to top
Alterego
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Sep 2003

Posts: 84
Location: The Netherlands


flag
PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:49 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

Have you set the following in DSConfig.txt in the [AL_Engine] section (case-sensitive):

Use_Decimal_Mutex=1

Global_DOP = 0
Back to top
H. Westerhof
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 26 Mar 2010

Posts: 65
Location: Groningen


flag
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:12 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

The first one is active, but the second one not. We use degree of parallelism a lot to speed up the ETL process.

Is that a part of the work-around?
Back to top
Alterego
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Sep 2003

Posts: 84
Location: The Netherlands


flag
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:39 pm 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

Not officially, as far as I'm aware.

But we had several intermittent implicit/explicit conversion issues, incorrect results and integrity issues, which all disappeared after setting the global DOP to 0.
We only tested the latest patch with global DOP set to 0.

If you go to Options -> General in DS Designer, enter AL_Engine/Use_Decimal_Mutex, and click Refresh, does it return 1?
Back to top
ack_83
Forum Member
Forum Member



Joined: 02 Jun 2011

Posts: 9



PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:54 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

Alterego wrote:
I have installed the patch and added this parameter.

After many test runs with jobs in which we previously could reproduce the problem easily, I haven't seen the FROMDBLOVER error anymore.

Hi,

Did you install the DS4103P_3-20009770.EXE (Windows) version released on 01.10.2014 to resolve the issue?

We are also facing this overflow issue and would like to install the BODS 4.1 SP03 PATCH 3. But the information in KB Article 0001987908 is confusing.
"Some aspects of this issue have been addressed in Data Services 4.2 SP2 Patch 1, released 8.11.2014.
Some aspects of this issue have been addressed in Data Services 4.1 SP3 Patch 3, released 10.31.2014"

Should we take the Patch 3 released on 01/10/2014?

Thanks in advance.

-Karthick
Back to top
Victor_BCN
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Sep 2009

Posts: 233


flag
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:44 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

I'm afraid I'm running DS 4.2 SP3 and I suffer this error icon_sad.gif

It's a small job which runs along the day, and twice per day it crashes with the error

<[FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double (5796)>

nopity.gif
Back to top
Alterego
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Sep 2003

Posts: 84
Location: The Netherlands


flag
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:14 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

For DS 4.2, you need SP3 PL2, and add the Use_Decimal_Mutex parameter as described in the release notes (and probably set the global DOP to 0 as well).

For DS 4.1, I have lost track of which part of the bug is solved in which version. Very likely, you need a version released after 4.2SP3PL2.
Back to top
Victor_BCN
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Sep 2009

Posts: 233


flag
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:04 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

Ahaaaa I didnt have noticed there was a 2nd page with this solution...sorry

Im gonna try it, ciao and thanks a lot!

seeya.gif
Back to top
Victor_BCN
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Sep 2009

Posts: 233


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:07 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

Ohhhh icon_sad.gif

I have installed the PL1 and PL2 for my DS 4.2 SP03 but I still get the error icon_sad.gif

I also modified and added the new row in the DS config file, in the [AL_Engine] part:
Global_DOP = 0
Use_Decimal_Mutex = 1

But I got the error:
Data flow DF_EV_D_Department|Transform Table_Comparison
Error: <[FROMLDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from long double (2413)>.

Do I need to install L1 and L2? or it's just the L2?

Thanks! nopity.gif
Back to top
Alterego
Senior Member
Senior Member



Joined: 23 Sep 2003

Posts: 84
Location: The Netherlands


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:33 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

The net result of installing PL1+PL2 or PL2 only should be the same.

If you go to Options -> General in DS Designer, enter AL_Engine/Use_Decimal_Mutex, and click Refresh, does it return 1?
Back to top
Victor_BCN
Principal Member
Principal Member



Joined: 15 Sep 2009

Posts: 233


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:01 am 
Post subject: Re: [FROMDBLOVER] RWDecimal: overflow converting from double

Hi Alterego,

sorry, I didnt get what you mean.

Im in Designer, where should I enter those values?

Thanks!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Forum Index -> Data Integrator -> DI: Designer and Job Design  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 2 of 4 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Jump to:  

Index | About | FAQ | RAG | Privacy | Search |  Register |  Login 

Get community updates via Twitter:

Not endorsed by or affiliated with SAP
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0307 seconds using 17 queries. (SQL 0.0033 Parse 0.0010 Other 0.0265)
CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/)
Hosted by ForumTopics.com | Terms of Service
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Shameless plug for MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo